We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #37 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Hong Kong / Coffs Harbour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

The Rex is a delightful boutique hotel, very well located a couple of blocks away from Union Square. We had a King Executive room which was spacious and very comfortable. The room was equipped with all the usual amenities, and the decor was funky & interesting. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive. All in all, a great place to stay for anyone wanting a centrally located hotel at a sensible price. One minor niggle, it could take up to 30 minutes to get your car back from valet parking, although in fairness to the hotel, they made that very clear at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    427
    97
    33
    12
See reviews for
119
497
91
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

Hotel Rex was a nice hotel for us to stay at this past week. The front desk and concierge were very friendly. The room did not have a view, but the bed and the overall accommodation was perfect!

Highly recommended--a 4-star property!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Rex in San Francisco twice.
Both times we were very happy with everything about the hotel. It is
in a great location in Union Square; there are art galleries on the same
street and it is an easy walk to Chinatown.

The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable, and the art and
decor are beautiful. There is an elegant bar in the lounge.

The attached restaurant/bistro is excellent. The food is delicious but is
not as expensive as what is in large luxury chain hotels.

The staff members provide one-page guides to walks, shopping, food, etc. in the city. Using one of these guides, we went on a great walk through
North Beach to the hills above the Embarcadero on our first visit. This
is a great hotel with friendly staff and lots of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2005

I think they must have been written by someone who works there. They cannot have spent an entire night there.
It begins when you have to drag your suitcase UP the front stairs to get into the hotel (no luggage ramp). Don't bring your whole family because you won't fit on the elevator.
I had to have housekeeping change the entire bed because there were stains on every bit of linen. And I'm up writing this review at midnight because my room is so dusty my throat is closing.
Yes, I tried to check out. They told me they would charge me for the room anyway. Clearly they don't care if you're happy once you're here.
The decor is ecclectic -- which is fine. But if you're tired, it isn't the most calming environment.
Yes, you may get a good rate on the room, but be aware they will charge you nearly $40 a night to park. In all fairness that is typical of S.F.
But I really feel it should be disclosed.
The Hotel Rex was not my idea of the ideal place to stay, but I'm just one in an entire series of "glowing reviews".

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

My wife and I had a fabulous time at the Rex Hotel in San Francisco.
The hotel was very intimate and quaint and the decor was done up extremely well...it gave it a very homey feeling.
The hotel personnel there were very accomodating and very friendly!
The location was great...everywhere we wanted to go was so close that we could walk or catch a short cab or cable ride.
The CD player in the room as well as the honor bar were very nice to have.
We loved the wine get togethers each night...the bar took on a really nice family feeling where all the hotel guests were lounging around and relaxing
The complimentary "Golden Gate Greeters" program was the highlight of our stay...we could not believe how tailor made the tour was based on our personal tastes. Our guide Rick was excellent and really made us feel at home...he answered all of our questions and gave us a great historic perspective of this great city!


Chuck & Akemi from Honolulu, Hawaii

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

This hotel provides great service and amenities! They took care of us from restaurant reservations to storing our luggage while we went sightseeing.

Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2005

Hotel REX provides great location! It's half a block from the cable car line.
I recommend this hotel to shoppers and for people who wants to feel the beat of the City. I loved the unique style, decor and service of the Rex. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.