We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed but small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Weekend Stays
Ranked #43 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well placed but small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in mid September. The first night was disturbed by the loud drone of an air con unit just outside the room. The window opened up directly to a wall which we could touch! We complained and were moved and upgraded. The staff were excellent and helpful. Coffee and tea in the morning and wine at night were gratefully received. The library bar had a good atmosphere and for the first 4 nights was enjoyable. For some bizarre reason the barman (mike), ruined the ambience by playing loud dance music one evening. Several customers complained but he ignored us. We recommend the hotel even with the anti social 'Mike'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    460
    110
    37
    13
See reviews for
136
534
98
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just spent four very enjoyable nights at this hotel. The room was lovely as was the overall decor of the hotel. The bar was cozy and the barman hospitable. Front desk staff was knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. The room was amazingly clean. It was altogether a wonderful experience for my first trip to San Francisco. I hope to go back and I will definitely stay at the Rex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very good hotel, only a block from Union Square. The room I stayed in (706) on the 7th floor was extremely comfortable and quite. The bar area was pleasant and the staff helpful and courteous.

I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was booked at the Hotel Rex by a client for the huge Oracle Open World conference. When I got the booking email, I was like "what the?". So I popped open trip advisor and saw that it was highly rated, and felt much better. The Hotel Rex is a really nice place. I've been staying here for the past 10 days. The rooms are small, but everything else about the hotel is just excellent. The hotel has an old world library feel. The look and feel of the hotel, and the decor are fresh and high quality. It appears as if this hotel were recently renovated, as the paint and wood surfaces are fresh looking. The hotel has a somewhat classy and upscale feel, but in a boutique way. I found it very refreshing, as I travel frequently, and usually stay in mostly higher end corporate chain hotels.

The room was very comfortable to sleep and work. There is a desk with a built in fridge, with some mini-bar items, but a large amount of space to put your own items. There is a big armoire and a decent sized dresser. The bed was nice and firm, and very comfortable.. The bathroom is not cramped and well appointed. There is a decent sized LED TV on the wall over the desk. The room is super clean and has a vintage feel. I loved it.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel. But I had no interest in using those, as the neighborhood has a ton of other thin gs to do. There are a large number of restaurants very near by. There is a 7-11 and a Walgreens right across the street And a short walk down the hill will take you to the Market Street area for lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Also, there is Cable Car stop about a block away as well, so jump on and head to Fisherman's Wharf for a night on the town.

The Hotel Rex was a great place to spend 10 days while working. The staff, the location, and the hotel itself were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a great team managing this little hotel! Everyone who served us was friendly and helpful.
It's a welcoming building, near to most of the main attractions and certainly within walking distance, if you like walking up and down the many steep hills.
The room was compact, very well appointed and extremely pleasant to return to after a hard day of sight seeing....especially as you are offered a lovely cold glass of wine between 5-6pm too!
If you are looking for vaue for money in this exciting city, this fits the bill really well and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a King Bedroom at Hotel Rex. The hotel is conveniently located with a lot of great shopping and dining opportunities in walking distance. The hotel offers a complimentary daily wine hour as well as coffee and tea in the morning. We spent part of our honeymoon there and the Vera attentive Hotel staff even arranged a surprise cake as well as champagne and cheese platter for us on our room. That was really great! Most of San Francisco sights are easily reached in walking distance. We rarely had to use a cab and only once needed a bus. We would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is my first trip to San Francisco and therefore my first - but not last- say at the Rex, I'm back here is 4 days.This hotel was recommended to me by friends and they were spot on. I arrived here mid morning after a long flight from Australia and the wonderful desk staff let me into my room early, a quiet one at the back and very comfortable, room 404. They also helped me arrange some activities.
I love wine hour at the bar, a free glass of wine, a chat to the barman and a read and relax. It's been a great way to unwind each afternoon.
Good bed, great pillows, clean and with character. I'm looking forward to being back on Thursday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. Please let me know when you return to the Rex and we will make sure you are well taken care of!
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#18 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,180 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#40 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.