We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The antidote to huge and impersonal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The antidote to huge and impersonal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you hate those hotels where you walk for miles through vast lobbies to get to your room, try this one. Small, friendly, but still in a convenient location near Union Square, I loved this place. I stayed 7 nights on a business trip. Wi-fi free and never a problem, great little bar, loved the free early morning tea and coffee from 5am (great if you're on a more easterly time schedule) and the free wine in the evening even more. I asked for a quiet room and it was, very. What's more, the window opened, yippee! I detest air con, so no problems for me. My room was quite spacious by UK standards for this class of hotel, and I didn't think the furnishings or bathroom particularly poor either. Then again I wasn't spending much time there awake. I adored the green option of refusing housekeeping in exchange for a voucher to spend in the bar - who needs clean towels and sheets every day if they shower?

Room Tip: I was given the option of more quiet or more light. I chose quiet, but it did lack daylight. I wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the fabulous review on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to us. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    408
    92
    33
    12
See reviews for
115
482
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff is both knowledgeable and friendly and the lobby is charming -- a comfortable place to read or work as well as to congregate after a busy day -- but as some other visitors have commented, the rooms are a bit tired. Older carpets, less than stellar (though still good) bedding, no central air. I had to condition my room on the 7th floor with a loud window unit. Basic wifi is still free, a real plus in these days when every hotel seems to make it an add-on, but note that there is no health facility onsite: it's around the corner and costs an extra $15 per day. If you get a good rate, it's a fine choice, but be aware that character and charm may be more in evidence than luxurious comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Peter:
Thanks for the review on TripAdvisor. We are aware that it has been a few years since renovation at our hotel and we are addressing that and updating some items. Unfortunately the AC is an issue in this older building and I apologize that it did not meet your needs. We are constantly seeking solutions that are both effective and eco conscious.
all the best,
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel earlier this week on business. The room was quiet and bed quite comfortable. Overall the hotel is a bit dark but has a very comfortable and welcoming lobby and bar. After our meeting was over in the conference room adjacent to the bar, we all spontaneously congregated at the bar and enjoyed the ambience and opportunity to wind down in such a pleasant space. The front desk staff was quite helpful and the location of the hotel is excellent. Hot coffee and tea are available in the lobby starting at 5 am but I would have loved to have an in-room coffee maker the first morning since I was on east coast time and was awake before 5 am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel Rex was perfect for our stay in San Fran. Another little funky boutique hotel. Great staff, small but comfortable and quiet room - ask for the back rooms - not so much light, but who is in their room all day when in San Fran?? Lovely bed linen, cushy big bed, what more do you need after a busy day sightseeing. Happy hour in the Library - very cool, shame we missed the jazz on Fri night. Great location, close to Union Sq, safe and great diners close by for breaky. Loved our stay here and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Back room for quiet, but don't know how loud it would have been anyway - good area, not surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Got a reasonable rate for this expensive city through Expedia. Rooms are small but clean and well-equipped, and the portacot for our baby fitted in without a problem. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I was pleased to get a photo of my baby with Max, the hotel mascot. Nice touches like live jazz on Friday night and evening happy hour. Location is hard to beat, with, cable car stop, 'Lori's Diner' and Walgreen's a 2-minute walk away and Union Square about a 5-minute walk. Our only criticism was that the pillows provided no support. We pointed this out to management and they were quite gracious about it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Let me start with check in - due to airline schedules, I needed to fly into SFO early. I went to check in at 7:30AM, expecting that they would take my luggage and I would hang out in the business center for the five hours prior to the start of my conference. Without hesitation the staff offered me an early check in. The room was cozy and tastefully decorated - and CLEAN. The bed was comfortable and they had a strong Internet signal (important). I was there for five days and declined maid service for the first two which they compensate you with a gift card for the restaurant - which I thought was a nice gesture. Every time I went by the front desk the staff was always very friendly and helpful - more than willing to help give directions or provide recommendations. The coffee in the morning was wonderful, the wine in the evening was nice and the cold water in the lobby all day was a refreshing touch. This isn't a fancy chain hotel, but it was very comfortable for a extended stay away from home and family.
The hotel is centrally located - an easy walk to Union Square, China Town, etc.
My only "complaint" was that the water pressure was a little low - but given the age of the building, it was acceptable. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After hiking up the hill from the Powell Street BART station, we were greeted by two happy and helpful people. They arranged a reservation for dinner and checked us in. The room is small but has everything one would need. The location is great for shopping and eating in the Union Square area. A free glass of wine is offered between 5 and 6 p.m.. The only drawback was that we needed to turn on the air conditioner in the night and it was really loud. At 5:00 a.m., I just had to shut it off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.