We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to a friend, for sure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #37 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would recommend to a friend, for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Extra friendly staff, beautifully decorated ground floor, amazing location, good wifi coverage and speed, room's bathroom had just been renovated. Great taste all around! The concierge was able to always recommend a place we loved (he directed us to an AMAZING mexican joint in the Castro, and to a great grill restaurant - name now forgotten - just a block down from the Hotel).
Loved the place, loved the experience, loved the hotel crew, loved its aesthetics. Would recommend to a friend for sure, and would stay again for sure²!

Room Tip: I've stayed on a room on 6th floor, facing the back of the Hotel, and it was very quiet. No stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Abrigado for the great review! It means a lot to my entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    426
    97
    33
    12
See reviews for
119
496
91
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here in May 2013. We picked this hotel because of the location and the reasonable price. We enjoy the Union Square Area, however most of the other hotels we have stayed in have been a bit of a disappointment. The Rex was far from a disappointment. The location is perfect, off Union Square enough to be quiet, but less than a 5 minute walk from all the action.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with any recommendations and arranging transportation.

The rooms are small, typical San Fransisco, but very cozy. Nice bed, bathroom, and tv. Robes and slippers were also included in the room. There is an onsite restaurant and bar. Its very comfortable and casual. There was live jazz on Friday night, which was enjoyable. Guests of the hotel receive a free glass of wine each night, as well as coffee and tea in the morning. (Nice bonus for San Fran!)

This place was a real find and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go Green! Skip Housekeeping Service and receive $5 to put towards food/drink at the onsite restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Welovetravel:
Thank you so much for the great review on TripAdvisor. I just started as the general manager of the Hotel Rex in March and I have been saying that it truly is a hidden gem. Please let me know if you ever return or if you have any friends or family coming our way. I would like to personally thank you.

best,
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May 2013. Booked through "Hotel Tonight" app and 45 minutes later walked in the door to the hotel.

They had our reservation and we had our room key within 5 minutes. Lovely little hotel with a personal touch. Very close to Union Square, so - a fine neighborhood. The room and bathroom were both clean with comfortable bed, good water temp and pressure, quiet room and efficient maid service.

There was no view from our side-facing room window but it was quiet and light enough. There is a safe in the room and the queen size bed was good. Free wi-fi was perfectly adequate. Not a lot of bandwidth, but adequate.

There are two bikes available for guests but they had been reserved by others during our stay. (This is one downside of the bike program, I believe. It should be first-come, first-serve. Because, while they were "reserved" they were actually not used - thus wasting a day of no use. Oh well.)

Definitely recommend this hotel. Also - very fairly priced, IMO.

Room Tip: Front rooms are supposed to be a little louder than back rooms. We had a side room, which was a dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Robodoggie:
Thank you so much for the great review on TripAdvisor. Next time, we hope you return with your dog! We appreciate your feedback and I want to let you know that we are currently upgrading our wireless internet server so when you return we will have much more bandwidth.
all the best,
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in town for a conference in the Union Square area and wanted something more reasonably-priced than the big name hotels. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Hotel Rex. The location was good and staff very helpful. My deluxe queen room was a little on the small side but fine for one person (or a couple) and was a nice mix of modern comfort and old-fashioned charm. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor back was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review on TripAdvisor. As a small boutique hotel we really depend on our guests to let other people know about us.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed there over the weekend, and found a wonderful surprise in the hotel and staff in itself. Loved the location, loved the hotel, and especially loved the staff. They really made you feel that you mattered, and wanted to make sure you had all the information you needed to start your day and end your evening. I absolutely loved this hotel and the hotel experience they gave us. Kudos to the management, the staff, and especially Max (Jeff's) buddy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nethou:
It makes me happy to see the words fabulous and fun used to describe the Hotel Rex, because that is what we aim to be. Thank you for the great review. It really helps us.
If you are on Facebook make sure you "like" us and also send a friend request the Maximo Pug Abenoja.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Rex for almost a week while attending a workshop. I loved the bohemian ambiance! The "Library Bar" is charming, and was a wonderful place to wind down after a long day. I can't say enough good things about the staff! They were so friendly and helpful! The location is convenient to shopping and wonderful restaurants. Yes, with DSW only a block away, I had to go shoe shopping! :=)

The final positive experience was meeting the hotel general manager as she brought in three rescued puppies! How can you not love the heart and positive feeling of this place?

Thank you Hotel Rex staff for a wonderful time! I will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Gail S:
Thank you for the fabulous review on TripAdvisor! As a small boutique hotel it really helps us get the word out. You will be happy to know that all three puppies have found great homes and the littlest one was adopted by our own bartender, Dave. Please let me know if you plan on returning or if you have friends and family coming our way. We can introduce the next set of fosters.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was in San Francisco for a convention and stayed at the Hotel Rex. I've stayed in this hotel twice before and always end up coming back when I am in SF. The location is really convenient to BART/MUNI, Union Square, Convention Center, shopping, etc. Unlike the formulaic major chain hotels, the Rex has old world charm and friendliness. Other hotels are frenetic and businesslike. The folks at the Rex are professional yet friendly and the atmosphere is calm. The rooms might be a little dated, but the general literary theme of the hotel makes up for that. Jeff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. Thanks for another great stay, Hotel Rex!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front/street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.