We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Worth the $125” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Worth the $125”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very small but elegant, rooms were comfy, beds super soft. lien clean.... nice bar and food.... would stay again, got on hotelstonight "rgarrett10" code if you use it for a discount.... paid $125 after everything. bonus room service and deliver ice to your door. location was excellent in union square area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    411
    92
    33
    12
See reviews for
115
484
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Rex for 1 night earlier this month. We were so happy we chose this hotel. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. When we didn't know where to go for dinner, we asked the front desk for options. She suggested a great place within walking distance and we were not disappointed. The free glass of wine is a nice touch and the bar is adorable. The room was just what we needed - nothing too fancy or huge but hopefully if you are in San Francisco you aren't spending too much time in your room. The only negative is our room was a little stuffy and we couldn't open the windows, but there was a fan in the room so we may have just been using it incorrectly. For the price, this is a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel Rex is a great little boutique hotel near Union Square. It's location is great if the convention center or the farmer's market at the Ferry Building is your destination. Union Square is very close, and with public transportation, or just a pleasant walk in the city, Chinatown and North Beach are easy to reach. Market Street is just a few blocks walk and there are buses that go to the Haight or the Marina. The lobby at Hotel Rex is great, very nice place to sit and read if you're waiting for someone. The bar/restaurant has a good atmosphere. I've stayed at the Rex a couple of times. The first time I loved my room. I had a great view, very clean and roomy. The second time, I didn't love my room so much. It was clean and very roomy, but awkward with a poor view. I wasn't in my room a lot, so it wasn't that big of a deal. Staff is wonderful, very helpful and good dispositions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugwater, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After much research, which I love doing on Trip Advisor, I found a screaming deal on Rex (getaroom) and took it. The lobby and feel of the place is great dark, artsy, cosy, nice bar menu, helpful staff, very boutique-y.

We'd booked a Queen room, they put us overlooking Sutter street. The window was single-pane and rattly. At that point it was like a clean and glorified hostel (bathrooms are quite basic.) My husband doesn't do noise very well, so we paid $30 more a night to go to a King (deluxe?) on the backside. It was bigger, nicely appointed, and at that point, quite good value.

Location is very central, not on an amazing block, but about 10-15 min walk to most places you'd like to go as a tourist, or half-a-block from the tram. We were out and about most of the time, but the hotel room is important to me at the times I'm in it, and we were very satisfied.

They let us store our bags the day we checked out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are loud, rooms on the back are quiet and overlook a green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned home with memories for a lifetime and the Hotel Rex contributed greatly to the success of our recent Mother/Daughter trip to San Francisco. From my first communication with Andrea in group sales to packing up in the town cars ( a wonderful suggestion by the front desk staff) to head to the airport, this stay was one of the most pleasurable ones in a long time. The staff is amazing and our whole group of 8 total agreed. Whenever we returned back from the hotel we were asked how our outing was. The wine at 5:00 was a wonderful perk. The location is also fantastic. I did not have breakfast, but others did and seemed to enjoy it. I read other reviews and therefore I asked for rooms in the back of the hotel. Noise was not a problem for any of us. The hotel is charmingly dated, with some new features and technology. The Hotel Rex is not a good choice for travelers who want to be invisible or who are used to a more corporate decor and style. If that is not what you are looking for, or you want to try something different, I would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Findingfood:
Thank you so much for the great review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a great mother daughter getaway and enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I just started here at the Hotel Rex as the general manager so I cannot take credit for your stay but I am happy to share this review with our staff and to encourage them to keep doing more of the same - helping create lifetime memories. let me know if you ever need anything and if you plan to return to the city.
all the ebst,
Ina
Ina Dang
general manager
HOTEL REX, a Joie de Vivre hotel
562 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
direct line: 415-217-4023
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

First time we stayed there, with a reservation through the "Hotels Tonight" app, and very impressed. Nice people at check-in, very welcoming and informative. An older building but well kept up and clean, had a good modern tv and unlike some older hotels had plenty of power outlets. Location is right in the middle of everything.
Recomended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Rex was an excellent find in the pricy Union Square district. We were close to transportation and in walking distance to Union Square, North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf. Of course, some of those places were a long walk but a very nice relaxing walk. The staff was incredible and the Pug greeting us made my day. The only minus was room service. The food was cold and honestly not that great. Other than that, it was a great experience and I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.