We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #37 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easter in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Rex Hotel is within walking distance of theatre, dinner, and Union Square. The staff is friendly and helpful. The ambience shows character: library bar, paintings of women, literary quotations on walls. The free glass of wine was a nice touch. The room was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: They recommended a room facing away from the street for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    427
    98
    33
    12
See reviews for
119
498
91
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Lodge, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Ths hotel is exactly what we were looking for...a boutique hotel in downtown San Francisco. Rooms are cozy, clean and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bar atmosphere with the library setting is fun. We will definitely be back. Thanks for an awesome three nights at the Rex.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, but we were in the city and wouldn't have minded the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Notts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Rex is in a perfect position for seeing San Francisco,s highlights on a short break.The hotels quirky literary theme throughout makes it feel very personal.The staff were all very pleasant and the reception staff very helpful with information and restaurant recommendations.After a long site-seeing day the complimentary glass of wine in the convivial atmosphere of the library bar was much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I wanted to stay in a central location, preferably in a unique type of hotel.The location was perfect and all the staff encountered were more than helpful.I loved the atmosphere in the bar, in particular.The wine in the evenings was a welcome change after cookies in New York.Minor room problems were easily resolved.Would I stay there again?Undoubtably.We felt extremely safe and the location was perfect.What would I change?I would give the hotel a coat of paint and do a general update.More blankets are needed in the bedrooms and perhaps more lighting.This is not a hotel that would appeal to everybody.If you are used to standard 5* luxury and want just that, then don't stay here.But if you are looking for something a bit different with a welcoming atmosphere, excellent food and the occasional live jazz, even if the decor is a bit sad, then enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Rex Hotel is exactly what you would expect a building in San Francisco to be like. The building is old, the elevator is tiny and it is in the heart of the all the action a tourist could want.

If you want to stay in a modern building this is not the hotel for you. The elevator is tiny. The stairwell is crammed and the steps and floors are uneven. But that's all part of the charm.

Our room faced Sutter Street and there was considerable noise every night. Everything from the traffic to rowdy crowds to the garbage trucks and street cleaners. Fortunately I'm a fairly heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me at all. The room was perfectly serviceable with a modern TV and a typical minibar.

One of our favourite features of the hotel was the 5 o'clock wine tasting in the lounge. It was great to start eacj evening with a couple pre-dinner cocktails and sample some of the local vintages.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They made some great recommendations for dinners and handled all our reservation needs. The valet parking is quick and not too pricey. Valet parking costs slightly more than some of the close by lots but you can come and go as many times as you like throughout the day so if you're in and out it a few times a day you'll probably end up paying less. The only problem is that the service isn't available between midnight and 6am which meant we had to get creative on the last day to make sure the car was available at 5am so we could make our flight.

Union Square is tourist central. Almost obnoxiously so. If you're there to shop and sight-see you'll love it. We wandered and found restaurants nearby a couple times and went a little further a couple times for something specific. Only once did we need to take a cab though as there are so many options so close by and we enjoyed taking in the neighborhood walking a few blocks.

Room Tip: I had room 614 and was travelling with people in 514 and 714. They all face Sutter Street and experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Wiscad,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel Rex. I was very pleased to read your extensive review and the nice words you had to say about the Hotel. I will make sure and share your review with the entire staff. Receiving reviews like yours is of immense value and really what we are striving to accomplish each day.

Again, thank you for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back when you travel to San Francisco again.

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
415.217.4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very happy with the location, staff, decor, breakfast, and nightly wine offering. We stayed in a room at the end of the hall as recommended on TripAdvisor and it was indeed quiet and a little larger.

The bathroom was OK, the shower head was a little short (I'm 6'0) but worked well. Counter space was minimal and not enough for my wife (I'm not sure what counter is...)

The biggest complaint was the sleep quality, the bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable. This is the dealbreaker and why I drop the rating to just average. A good night's sleep is my main concern, hotels seem to miss this critical point lately.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Jay F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review on Tripadvisor. As the General Manager of the Hotel Rex I'm very pleased with your positive feedback, and I'm happy to inform you that we are currently installing new Serta beds in all our guestrooms!

Again, thank you so much for your review and I'm hoping to welcome you back to San Francisco and the Hotel Rex very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
415.217.4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Pro's
• Centrally located but still quiet
• Nice decor

Con's
• Shower and bath weren't great
• Bed a little too hard for my liking

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.