We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Joie de Vivre experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another good Joie de Vivre experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in a suite. The suite was on the 7th (top) floor and in the back of the hotel, so away from street noise. The room had a bed and flat screen 2 in 1 room, and a sofabed and another flat screen in the second room, and we actually had a full bathroom and a half bath. Each room had adequate sitting/reading areas; the main bedroom had a very nice chaise lounge. Excellent location for Union Square and Nob Hill, with the Financial District and Ferry Building easy walks. The room was great, as was the free coffee and newspapers in the lobby each morning and free glass of wine in the afternoon. Stylish place, maybe not ideal for kids younger than about 15. The only physical issue was the single small elevator.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    396
    89
    32
    12
See reviews for
110
472
87
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I will start by stating we love this chain and Hotel Rex was certainly no exception! But...we may have stumbled into a bad weekend for not only Hotel Rex but San Francisco as well! The Oakland Bridge was closed down into the City for reconstruction, so the entire city was a bit off.
THE GOOD: A perfect location near Union Square in a clean, fairly trendy area. Personelle that loves to take care of you and remembers yours and your dog's name. Pet friendly and with that said rooms are very clean and you would never know they allowed pets! Nicely decorated and good amenities such as an honors bar in the refrigerator that is nicely stocked AND you can use it for your own items without fearing charge like some hotels! Windows that open! Nice comfortable little bar with great wine free of charge in the evenings. Quick and efficient room service. Pet is free and they even provide a bowl of water and food dish. Large TV and lots of channels and even a IPod dock.
THE BAD: We were in room 601 and there was a very loud clunking noise (sounded like the ceiling was falling in) constantly. Don't know if it was the toilet above us or what? It would wake us up from a sound sleep! Although the bed was very comfy, the pillows were overstuffed and we both woke up with a bit of a sore neck!
THE UGLY: Where the Bridge caused a problem for the city...a broken pipe and fire alarm caused problems for the hotel. The trek to and from the 6th floor with a dog the first night of stay was no fun! That said, this was no ones fault and the staff tried very hard to compensate for the problems and it was very appreciated! They sent up wine so we didn't have to hike back and forth, didn't charge me for taking a Corona beer from the honors bar since the bar was closed due to the flood and gave us a coupon for a drink the following evening.

All in all a wonderful stay and we look forward to going back...as does our dog Fenway!  

Room Tip: Remember to give the Valet a full 30 minutes to retrieve your car as it is kept in a lot a ways away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We are regular visitors to San Francisco, so we know what we're getting into when we make a reservation. A lot of older hotels call themselves "boutique" when what it really means is old, musty, with a few second hand antiques to give them character. Hotel Rex is the real deal. The staff is top flight and very knowledgeable. Our room (sixth floor in the back) was quiet and neat as a pin. Some other reviews have commented on the room size. I've been in hotels with very large rooms that waste the space or provide cookie cutter decor. Our room at the Rex was of a good size, but even better, laid out in such a way as to make the best use of the space. My wife and I both had our own night tables and reading lamps, and the writing desk had lots of drawers. The decor is fun without being cutesy. The bathroom, while on the small size, as very clean and well-supplied. It was the kind of room you can enjoy being in because of its furnishings and layout. My only suggestion would be another shelf or two in the bathroom because of the limited counter space. And you can't beat the location--depending on your willingness to walk uphill (its always uphill in SF)! you're minutes from Union Square shopping, Chinatown, and Nob Hill.

The only reason I didn't give it five stars...about 10:30 on Friday night the fire alarm went off. Nothing seemed amiss so I called the front desk--no answer. So we got dressed and trudged down six flights of stairs, join our other roommates on the sidewalk while the fire trucks rolled up. The alarm malfunctioned and the staff seemed to be a little befuddled on how to fix it. After a while, we walked back up the six flights because the single small elevator was way too backed up. And the next afternoon, it happened again! This time I called and they told me it was a malfunction, but for th next half hour we endured the alarm going on and off intermittently. After a long day walking, all we wanted was a little rest, but all we got was the fire alarm! Maybe the staff could use some extra training in the area.

All in all, an enjoyable stay, and we'd go back again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on the upper floor toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Mstimc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hotel Rex on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your nice comments and your very valuable feedback.

We indeed had a rather difficult weekend. It turns out that a water pipe broke between the first floor and the basement. The leak was only detected on Saturday, but caused the fire alarm to ring on both Friday night and Saturday afternoon as well as the Elevator to stop running for a few hours on Saturday.

It took us quite a while to locate the exact location of the leak; however we were able to repair the pipe and the elevator on that same Saturday.

Please do accept my apologies for these events. Rest assured that the safety of our guests and the training of our staff is our highest priority.

Again, thank you for your nice words and your understanding!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
415.217.4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

great location, comfortable rooms, great breakfast close to everything

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Rex for 4 nights at beginning of Feb 2012. First visit to the West of America, San Francisco and the hotel, which was recommended by BA, was fantastic. Lovely room, 714, which had a extremely big bed, iPod dock, widescreen TV and well equipped bathroom. The staff at the Hotel Rex are brilliant and help out with any requests without being the usual customer service staff. Very friendly, helpful and approachable. The wine reception the hotel offer every night, 5-6pm is brilliant and set you up for the evening exploring San Francisco. The movie night is a nice touch also! So pleased to find a hotel that offers an Eco-friendly service with the added advantage of a $5 bar credit for every day that you don't need housekeeping! Would definitely recommend the Hotel Rex to couples hoping for a romantic time away as the hotel is a home away from home! Thank you the Hotel Rex for making our time away so special!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in San Francisco for 3 days to see the sights and made a last minute booking with Hotel Rex because of it's low price and surprisingly high ratings. We weren't disappointed and neither will you be if you stay here. The hotel itself is small, not boutique small but it's definitely not high volume. The rooms are very neat, well presented with an interesting literature based theme. The hotel is also quite green focused (as is the way in San Francisco), however I was pleased that the 'green' options were that, optional and I did not feel pressured by any means. Hotel Rex provides you with the usual amenities such as cable & a mini bar and we were encouraged by staff to use the mini bar for what ever we needed and to just remove any mini bar items we needed to.

What set them apart for me was one particular night of my stay.
I had to make arrangements for my girlfriend and my 7 year anniversary dinner. Both the bellman and the concierge helped me greatly going through a number of options for me as well as providing me a reservation at a fantastic nearby restaurant, Palominos. With a great seat along with a wonderful walk along the pier I owe all the boyfriend points I earned to the staff at Hotel Rex.
As we arrived home after a fantasic dinner and walk we were greeted with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! I have never reviewed any other hotels I've stayed at before but I felt obligated to spread the word about this wonderful hotel.

Stay and you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Get a room in floors 3 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I was in San Francisco in November 2011 and we chose Rex mainly due to the reviews on tripadvisor and its central location. The hotel is right in a not so loud part of the center on the foot of Nob Hill, minutes from Union Square and next to the cable lines. So public transport is not needed for visiting most of the sites with the only exception being the Mission, Haight Ashbury, Castro, Alamo Square and Golden Gate Park. With regards to the hotel itself, rooms are very nice and pretty, and quite spacious for a SF central hotel, even though a bit small by american standards. Staff is excellent, always helpful and very knowledgeable. The public spaces are quite intimate and small enough to feel at home. On the down side, prices do remind you the fees you would pay in London or Barcelona for an equivalent hotel and also the crowds may be considered a bit pretencious by some. But all in all a very good stay and a great match for a dreamland city like SF.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.