We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zetta.licious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zetta San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Milano) (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Time, 20% Off
Ranked #24 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zetta.licious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Oh Hotel Zetta how I love theeeeeeeeee - let me count they ways!
-amazing/attentive staff
-heavenly bed
-UBER chic decor (and clever too, mug shots from Alcatraz?)
-awesome room service
-plugs on the side of the nightstands for the electronics that RULE our lives now
-this one is NEW since my last stay - a BLUETOOTH speaker that you can play your music on wirelessly, radical.
Honestly SF has been needing a hotel like this for yearssssssssssssssss - don't bother staying anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear cb,
Please keep coming back, we are always looking at coming up with something new. i am glad you enjoyed one of our latest addition, our own branded Jambox in every single rooms. I hope you had a chance to see and walk down our stairwell with graffiti art, this is a truly a unique and fun experience that you will find only at Hotel Zetta.
Come back soon for more surprises.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    91
    38
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
93
11
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great SF location, helpful staff, quiet large room with comfortable bed, great shower and large pump-style bottles of shampoo, etc. We needed more towels, but otherwise - great hotel, good value for a weekend visit

Room Tip: 7th floor room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear VJ S
We are indeed a great weekend hotel, as we are in the middle of all the action and right next the best and biggest shopping center in the city. We are also ideal for week day stay if you are in the city for convention or business.
Thank you for the mention of our pump size eco-friendly bathroom amenities they are part of our second nature effort and the hotel has been awarded the 4 green key certification as well as the Trip Advisor GreenLeaders platinum level.
Please come back soon!
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeCanuck
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our 2 night stay was excellent. Great rooms, furniture & comfortable beds. Bathrooms have great showers & FULL SIZED artisan soap/shampoo bottles!!! No need to keep emptying tiny ones and calling for replacements. BAR is great too- excellent selection, solid cocktails & A1 bartenders who know their stuff and are generous. The PLAYROOM is unique- a fun place to lounge around and even sip drinks. Lastly, the lobby STAFF are the best! Always happy, polite, interacting, and helping with whatever you need for however long you need them. Kudos to the hotel manager!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing 5th St. are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear JoeCanuck,
Wow, what a great review! This is what the entire team is striving for and they are excited to read comments like yours. Thank you for sharing with the world. We cannot wait to welcome you back in our fun, playful and unique hotel.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zetta. It is a quiet and comfortable small hotel directly adjacent to the Westfield San Francisco Centre. It’s a nice 7 minute walk (0.3 miles) from Union Square and all the downtown activity. The street the hotel is on, 5th Street, is not a particularly fancy street so there isn’t much of a view to be had other than a building and liquor store across the street. There are 116 rooms and the property is still very new and clean since opening a little over a year ago (the result of the renovation of an older hotel). We had a room with two queen beds on the 5th floor, which was 415 square feet – a nice size compared to many other rooms in San Francisco (though the single bed rooms are smaller). The gym is located on the 4th floor and has pretty new, hi-tech equipment. You need your room key to access it. Free, new earbuds are provided to those who want to use them while working out. The valet service is convenient, though be aware that everything is taxed and what is advertised as a $50.00 a day parking fee is actually $57.00 per day due to a parking tax. The décor is modern-tech and quirky. This is definitely geared more toward a younger, hip crowd. The bathroom amenities are large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel; nothing you can take home :( I have stayed at other 4-5 star hotels in the area that I liked better and were less expensive, but we had a good stay here and if the price were right, we would stay again. The Powell & Market Cable Car Turnaround is right around the corner, but be prepared for a long wait to get on here if you wish to ride. The line was very long every time we passed by. Also, the hotel does a pre-authorization to your credit card upon check-in, which I was not informed about so it caused some confusion once we got home and I saw a $200.00 charge pending from Hotel Zetta.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear JHunter26,
Thank you so much or the detailed review, it will help other traveler when looking for hotel option in San Francisco. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that we have to offer. Our bathroom amenity format is part of our 2nd nature initiative and we have been awarded in our first full year of operation 4 green key certification as well as the Greenleaders platinum level by Trip Advisor.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Zetta aims to be a cool tech hotel in San Francisco, it's 5 minutes walk from the heart of the City so you could not get a better location if you are making a city visit.

The reception has a quirky wow factor with everything from a huge sweeping leather sofa running the entire width of the lobby, as well as some huge games to play, pool table and bar.

The room was OK, but felt dark, our view, although a premier room on the 7th floor, was of a wall. It felt more like an office with a bed in it than a bedroom with a desk in it. The Zetta makes the claim of being a tech savvy hotel... it has wifi, so nothing amazing there. It also claims that the TV is easily connected to all your other devices... it isn't. We were using the latest iOS phone and tablet, neither of which wanted to play ball with the TV.

The bathroom had a smell of bad water too.

The Zetta is not bad, but perhaps they should pay more attention to the basics before they start trying to be a tech hub.

Room Tip: Get one that does not face a wall.
See more room tips
Green Features: No different from the rest, first we realised they were trying to be different on this score was this review question.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear russhughes,
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Zetta San Francisco and for sharing your experience on this forum. I was disappointed not making a better impression as our goal is to provide a unique and fun hotel experience in San Francisco. Regarding the connectivity of the TV in the room, we do have adapters at the front desk so that we can cover the variety of devices that are in use today. Thank you again for staying with us, the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in our beautiful city.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel Zetta was a very comfortable hotel in a great location. It had an eclectic vibe with modern decor. The rooms were clean and large. There is a restaurant on site, and because of it's prime location, there are several restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Apt456,
Indeed we are very unique! With our recycle, re-purpose art throughout the hotel, our Playroom on the second floor and one of the best new restaurant next door - the Cavalier just made the the SF Chronicle top 100 restaurant in the Bay area list - and one of the friendliest and caring team in place, we are the perfect base to discover San Francisco. I also forgot to mention that world class shopping, sightseeing, dining and entertainment options are at our footstep.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It's just away from the hustle and bustle but only a very short walk away from everything. It has a nice vibe but not much in the way of amenities. The room was a good size and kept well maintained by housekeeping particularly as we were there for a week

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear SophieT,
Thank you for the review, I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the quality, size and cleanliness of our rooms. As far of amenities, i hope that you had a chance to experience our Playroom on the second floor, it is outfitted with a pool table, a giant Plinko wall, shuffle boards and a multitude of board games.We also have a fitness center, available 24/7 and our restaurant "The Cavalier" is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it has just made the list as one of the top 100 bay area restaurant.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zetta San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.