We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zetta San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Milano) (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% Plus Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a couple of days in the Zetta hotel last summer and definitely recommend it:
ideal location close to main city attractions and restaurants, comfortable and well decorated rooms, great game room upstairs, friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Bonjour carole v,
Thank you for posting this review, we are delighted to have been part of your summer vacation in the US. We are ideally located close to all the main attractions and we have a great playroom when you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    58
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
61
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Fun atmosphere, updated rooms, awesome modern different decor. This hotel is not like every other. From the minute you walk in you can tell this hotel was well done with a specific concept in mind. Great place! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear LMB21,
You are right, we are not like any other hotels! From our "Recycle, Reuse, Re-purpose" concept to our "Work Hard, Play Hard" mentality, we are truly unique in San Francisco! I hope that you had a chance to experience our restaurant as well, we are getting amazing reviews. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a little mini getaway in the beautiful city of San Francisco and happy we had the opportunity to stay in this very nice hotel. The location is ideal and the rooms are comfortable and very beautiful. The service was on point. Dio and Fabian were both especially helpful with helping us feel welcomed and situated in our mini vacation. Definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in San Francisco!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kelvin S,
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your mini vacation in San Francisco and that we could be part of it. Dio and Fabian are great ambassador of Hotel Zetta and they were thrilled to know that they could make a difference during your stay. The entire team at Hotel Zetta is looking forward to welcoming you back!
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just got back from a stay at the hotel and had an amazing time. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and professional. The bar/lounge area is great to relax in and the game room upstairs was a lot of fun at night. The location was great and it was a short cab ride anywhere in the city. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who is visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ryan M,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location, the lounge, the playroom and above all the team. We are very proud and passionate about our new hotel and I am very excited that it showed. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed in San Francisco 10-11 times over the past couple years. Each time I pick a different hotel to try new things but I will never do that again after staying at Hotel Zetta because there is not another hotel in the city like this one. Hands down, the best hotel in San Francisco and one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. The decor is amazing and the staff are wonderful. In the lobby they have Apple computers for you to use and a great bar. The second floor has accommodations for bigger groups with pool tables and ever Atari! Really Atari, that's something no other hotel has. Rooms are spacious and very modern. The mini bar is packed with great food and drinks for a reasonable price or you can enjoy a free espresso using your Illy espresso machine in the room. I had a great nights rest and it was very quiet. Finally, it is conveniently located right off the 5th street exit and 80. Perfect for someone who does not want to get lost in the city. A must stay and worth the money!

Room Tip: Stay here! Don't even look around for other hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dave B,
Wow, what a nice review, I am delighted that you enjoyed and that we will be your hotel of choice when you return to San Francisco! Next time, you should also try our new restaurant, "The Cavalier", the food is amazing and it is definitively the new place to try in SOMA.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last stop for the end of a long weekend in northern California based on recommendations from various travel sites. It was modern and newly renovated with a trendy upscale vibe. The rooms were sparely furnished in a clean and modern way but with all the needs. I especially liked that there were available outlets next to the bed in an accessible spot. Clearly someone who designed the space knew that most guests would have gadgets that needed charging (something that you don't readily find at many hotels). Especially great about this hotel was the staff - everyone was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DavidChic1,
I hope that you had a great trip and I am glad that you chose Hotel Zetta as your last stop. We have an exciting and truly unique decor and we kept our guests in mind when designing the rooms as most of our guests travel with more than one device and need to be connected 24/7.
Our team is as excited as I am about our hotel and I am delighted that it showed during your stay.
We cannot wait to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had never been to San Francisco and decided to meet my son up there to visit for a couple days & see the sites. A mutual friend of ours, Greg B., works in sales for the Hotel so we thought we would stay there while in town.

The location was convenient to the cable car (which was one of the things we wanted to do), shopping, and the staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. Although we did not relax in the bar/lounge, it was inviting with a unique decor and always busy.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a nice, large flat panel TV and, my personal favorite, an instant espresso machine. The bathroom was nice sized and offered all those little amenities that added to the stay.

I was impressed with how comfortable the bed was, which my back also appreciated. The roll away my son slept on was equally as comfortable.

I would highly recommend Hotel Zetta to anyone when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zetta San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.