We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we loved the Hotel DIva!!! the location was great , the beds are the BEST anywhere and the linens are amazing!!! The only thing I would suggest they update is the lighting. It was a bit dark in the room.

Room Tip: we stayed on second fool 219 and loved the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    393
    124
    53
    33
See reviews for
99
341
77
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great room, great location amazing staff. Perfect for my 5 nights in the city. Yes it is a little noisy at night but you are staying in a city so who cares. The staff were helpful and help with places to see and go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was very happy with our choice. I searched a lot of hotels before choosing Diva, and I was not disappointed. We checked in around 11 am and were pleased to get a complimentary upgrade from 2 doubles (about $200/night) to a queen jr suite, which had a queen in one room and queen Murphy bed in second room. Pros: close proximity to BART Powell St station, cables cars and street car, SUPER comfortable bed, quiet (rm 708, top floor and backs to the alley), nice amenities like bottled water, makeup wipes, sake in the lobby at happy hour, soft towels, iPod/iPhone docking station alarm clock, good( and free) WiFi, blackout shades, very helpful concierge and indoor access to Starbucks next door. Cons: bathroom fan ran continuously (i just shut the door) recycling pickup for glass is at 5:00am and goes on for at least 15 min it seems, with the sound of glass bottles being emptied into a truck of more bottles. All that said, I preferred that over a room facing Geary St. The concierge stored our bags until our room was ready, made shuttle reservations to SFO ($15 per person, each way) and let us cool off and rest in one of the conference rooms after we had checked out, but were waiting for a late evening flight.
The best part: my 12 yo said it was the best hotel he had ever stayed in, which made our trip memorable. Thanks Diva!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear WAgal,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will think of us once again on your next rip to San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton on Sea, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights, very clean and tidy, if you get a room overlooking the front its very noisy.
A little on the camp side for our taste. Having said that the decor was unusual but pleasant. Room on the small side but well finished. A very central position only steps from Union Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a bigger trip around California-We had a Deluxe Double Double- not sure what the extra Double got us, but it was a good sized bedroom with small/tiny ensuite- so tiny the sink was in the bedroom itself. Our door did not fit the frame - by over an inch on one side, so the noise and light from the corridor at night was annoying, however this was drowned out by the AC and the Garbage men through the night and morning- Not the hotel to stay in if you want to sleep. The lifts are incredibly slow and the corridors and room we were in were very dark.
On the plus side the hotel is in a great location and has a Starbucks attached to the lobby as well as good diners/breakfast options on the same block. Complimentary Sake in the lobby in the evening is a nice touch.

Room Tip: We were on the back of the hotel so no light and very noisy from the back of the restaurants/bars et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here at the start of May as a part of our month long trip of the States/Mexico and we couldn't have been happier. This boutique hotel has it all. Great location,friendly staff and a certain feel that makes you instantly comfortable. If you are lookin for a 5 star hotel with all the trimmings then this hotel won't be for you but if you are looking for a clean and affordable room to use as a base while you enjoy what San Francisco has to offer then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Gorlo73,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had the chance to enjoy the many complimentary amenities we offer: wifi, business center, fitness center, tea lounge, lobby water service and our sake hour in the lobby from 5 to 7pm. I hope you will think of us once again on your next visit to San Francisco.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Out off all of the rooms I have stayed in this trip, this has to be by far the smallest room, but it has been the best dressed room I have ever stayed in .... I loved it! The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Union Square, which makes it very convenient, but as you might expect, it can be noisy at night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PaulHertford,

Thank you for the five star review on Trip Advisor. I would like to suggest an Executive King room or a Studio King perhaps on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.