We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diva to your Saves list
Hotel Diva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one night while we were in town taking in a baseball game and some of the beautiful sights the city has to offer.

Getting there was a bit of a pain in the rear end, the hotel is located right in the heart of downtown and all the roads are one way streets and several of them were under construction with detours. We probably spent a good 20 minutes trying to find a way to get to the hotel. A GPS is essential if you're new to the city and trying to get around.

Check-in was a breeze and were sent up to our room on the second floor. The one elevator was broken and the other one was slow so we took the stairs - no biggie, it was just on the next floor.

Our room was fantastic. We had 2 double beds and they were beyond comfy!!! The pillows and that fuzzy throw are heaven on earth. Yes, the bathroom and sink and insanely small but that's what I would expecting being in San Fran - everything seems to be squished together to maximize the use of the room. We had the wonderful blinds in our room, we pulled them up because we were curious what kind of a view we had... brick walls! Again, no biggie, if you want a view step outside of your hotel and soak in everything that's going on around you!

If I'm ever staying overnight in the city again, I'll surely be coming back to this hotel!

I must mention - if I had my family of 4 with me, I'd be going a little batty. With all the additional stuff that comes with being a family that would make for some pretty tight quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    420
    143
    55
    36
See reviews for
112
383
84
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Recently stayed at the lovely Diva Hotel for business. My room was spacious with stylish yet fun décor of “shades of gray”. The hotel location was perfect…..right in the heart of Union Square with fabulous dining options, theater, shopping, and mass transit including, trolley, bus, and BART metro (all within a 2-3 blocks).

Service was top notch. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, they went far above and beyond the call of duty. I left my laptop in my hotel room and they quickly made arrangements to get it to me at the airport before my flight departed. All in all a fabulous service experience. I will definitely stay at the DIVA Hotel whenever l return to SF.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have been stayng here for the better part of 25 years on business trip to the Bay Area. Convenience, comfort and staff that generally is as helpful and friendly as staff can be. With the recent retirement of the "head bellhop", David, there's an adjustment going on in that area, but all in all, will continue to stay here. My suggestion- ask for a room away from geary-it will be quieter.

Room Tip: away from geary
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear theAdog56,

On behalf of Hotel Diva and Personality Hotels, I would like to express my sincere gratitude for your loyalty. We are lucky to have a loyal guest like you.

David has been a great asset to the Hotel Diva and we will always value his hard work and many other talents. Having spent twenty five years with us, I hope David's retirement will inspire my "new generation" bell/concierge staff to achieve the many great work and oustanding service David has provided our guests. Please be assured that my present staff is equally capable of doing so.

Please let me know the next time you are at Hotel Diva. I would love to personally meet you and thank you.

We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

To start off with something good, the location is great and the front desk staff are very helpful. The room was okay, but I wouldn't call it clean. One of the light bulbs in the bathroom works on a timer, which is annoying as it goes off every 20 minutes at most, leaving a pretty dark bathroom. One of the elevators was out of service for 2 nights out of our 3 night stay, which made the trips up and down from our room ridiculously long. The rooms are also very noisy and you can hear clearly everything that happens in the hallway and on the street. But then again, San Francisco is pretty pricey, so I guess that's what you get for the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear YaB90,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry to hear you weren't too pleased with your accommodations. The light bulb in the bathroom you were referring to is a heat lamp that's why it's on a timer. I hope you will stay with us again and give us the chance to change your impression on us.

Inspite of, I hope you had the chance to enjoy the many great complimentary amenities we offer: WIFI, business center, fitness center, tea lounge as well as complimentary Perrier water in the lobby through out the whole day and our popular Sake hour from 5 to 7 pm.

Please consider staying with us again. We would love to have you back!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My friend and I booked the Hotel Diva for a recent fun trip to San Francisco, we booked a king sized bed to save money and when we arrived, were given a room with a queen, we immediately went down to the front desk to correct the error and were told there were no available kings for that night. I said that was ok but could we please get what we booked for the remainder of our stay? We were told that while there were kings coming available the following nights, they couldn't guarantee that we would get one as they might get booked up! I suggested that she put our name on one of those so that we would get the room we booked and she just kept repeating herself like a robot. That was only the beginning. We had a room with a flag pole right outside that was constantly rattling, it was so noisy, it sounded like the window was open all night and this hotel is located on a very busy, noisy street so we barely slept. The room was VERY small with barely enough room to walk around the queen sized bed, bathroom was very small as well. When booking this hotel, we read that one of the two elevators was out of service but we figured that would be fixed by the time we arrived as the reviews were from some time ago, this was not the case. Only one elevator was working and the other one took you down to the basement every time you got on in the lobby whether someone was getting on or off in the basement or not. We got to our room, cancelled the rest of our stay and book at the Hotel Florence which was spacious and lovely and the staff were very helpful and accommodating, so unlike the Hotel Diva. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Summeroffun 08,

I'm sorry to hear you did not get the room you expected. I'm not sure how you booked your reservation. But for the benefit of the many Trip Advisor readers: When a reservation is booked for a deluxe room with one bed through a third party website, it does not guarantee the guest a king bed although it says "Deluxe Queen or King". "Deluxe Queen of King" means either bed type can be assigned depending on availability at arrival. Again, I always encourage our guests to call our reservations department directly for accuracy and at the same time you are able to make any special requests pertaining to your reservation.

I am truly sorry we are unable to meet your expections this time. I hope you will give us another chance and consider staying at Hotel Diva on your next trip to San Francisco...because next time I'm sure...you would not want to leave.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at the Diva as part of our trip to the USA West Coast and it was a perfect start. A small and friendly boutique hotel with good size rooms. The reception staff are helpful, friendly and professional without being intrusive. The location is central for visiting the main attractions. The only slight negative is the view from the room - but we had requested the quieter side of the hotel and we weren't there for the view! I had read some comments about the size of the lift and that it was dimly lit. Some people moan about anything - it was large enough for 4 of us with luggage and the lighting is funky.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms mean a poor view, but even on the street side its only overlooking the street. We only l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

A group of us stayed in hotel diva for a few nights recently while visiting san Francisco.This hotel is in an ideal location for seeing all the sights this great city has to offer. Rooms are clean but very small. Lifts are slow ,walking up the stairs is quicker. Staff are very nice & friendly.
Unfortunately San Francisco has a very high homelessness rate so unless you have a cold heart be prepared to part with a few dollars around this area and the city in general.
We had a great time in this great city and I would return to hotel Diva

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.