We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and Free Parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #42 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, and Free Parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Met a friend for a three day get together, and she located this hotel. Clean, fabulous location on US 101 (Lombard) Street, close to everything! Very reasonably priced, as well. An older place, no fancy lobby, and we never went into the attached restaurant. Mel's Diner is right across the street, and we had fabulous breakfasts there at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The road noise in the front on Lombard Street are a little noisy, but I still slept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    223
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
130
174
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great room in a fabulous location. I don't want to stay near tourist things. Saw a lot of young families in the neighborhood. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was huge with 2 queen beds and a nice love seat. Windows opened fully to let in the cool breeze. It is noisy with the windows open but that's expected when you are in a big city. Free and easy parking. Best selection of restaurants in San Fran all within walking distance. Lots and lots of restaurants to choose from. Free wifi. Easy access to the Golden Gate Bridge. Stayed here with wife and three kids. No pool if your looking for one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked the suite here by calling the number in the AAA book. For my family of 5, a suite is cheaper and what a beautiful one it was. It was really a 2 bedroom condo with 2 full baths and full kitchen--just amazing. We only had 2 days to visit. The hotel is located near numerous restaurants and parking was free. We took a bus tour so I can't say if the location is good or not. We did walk all the way from the wharf back to our hotel. I would definitely stay there again if I ever get back.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked in here after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor but ended up moving to it's sister hotel in North Beach near the pier after one night. It seems that it's in a good location for some people but for us it was too far away from the main neighbourhoods like North Beach, Nob Hill and had limited access to those areas. It is however a short walk away from the Marina if that's where you want to be.

The room was fine but you could hear the Ice machine in the hallway (same as it's sister hotel Columbus) which you could hear from the room, so it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Clean and updated. Parking below which is really necessary if you are driving. There are dozens of places to eat and shop within just a couple of blocks. We rode the bus and drove and found getting around San Francisco to be quite easy.

Our room was on the second floor looking out to the six-lane street below. There was noise but that is to be expected given the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've stayed here before. And while we loved the location on our first stay, the hotel was rather dated. Well, they upgraded the beds, carpet and bathroom amenities in these very spacious rooms. Still the same free parking and a location that is hard to beat. Overall it's a great value in San Francisco! No pool, but the Bay Watch Restaurant downstairs was a good value for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a bridge view from the third floor! Well worth it and makes the room much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just let me tell you first, hotels in San Francisco are very expensive, so, for the same price you're going to pay here you can spend a night at the bellagio... But! For SF this hotel is a great option, good location (right on lombard, 6 blocks away from Van ness and 3 blocks to Union Street), you'll many places to eat near the hotel even late at night...
The room is big, nice bed and bathroom, great view of the street and parking for free (lots of it)
At the reception there are always free apples, and the guys there are kind and interested in making the best of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Address: 2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.