We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and Free Parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, and Free Parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Met a friend for a three day get together, and she located this hotel. Clean, fabulous location on US 101 (Lombard) Street, close to everything! Very reasonably priced, as well. An older place, no fancy lobby, and we never went into the attached restaurant. Mel's Diner is right across the street, and we had fabulous breakfasts there at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The road noise in the front on Lombard Street are a little noisy, but I still slept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PixiePixels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great room in a fabulous location. I don't want to stay near tourist things. Saw a lot of young families in the neighborhood. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was huge with 2 queen beds and a nice love seat. Windows opened fully to let in the cool breeze. It is noisy with the windows open but that's expected when you are in a big city. Free and easy parking. Best selection of restaurants in San Fran all within walking distance. Lots and lots of restaurants to choose from. Free wifi. Easy access to the Golden Gate Bridge. Stayed here with wife and three kids. No pool if your looking for one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked the suite here by calling the number in the AAA book. For my family of 5, a suite is cheaper and what a beautiful one it was. It was really a 2 bedroom condo with 2 full baths and full kitchen--just amazing. We only had 2 days to visit. The hotel is located near numerous restaurants and parking was free. We took a bus tour so I can't say if the location is good or not. We did walk all the way from the wharf back to our hotel. I would definitely stay there again if I ever get back.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked in here after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor but ended up moving to it's sister hotel in North Beach near the pier after one night. It seems that it's in a good location for some people but for us it was too far away from the main neighbourhoods like North Beach, Nob Hill and had limited access to those areas. It is however a short walk away from the Marina if that's where you want to be.

The room was fine but you could hear the Ice machine in the hallway (same as it's sister hotel Columbus) which you could hear from the room, so it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 953AlexC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Clean and updated. Parking below which is really necessary if you are driving. There are dozens of places to eat and shop within just a couple of blocks. We rode the bus and drove and found getting around San Francisco to be quite easy.

Our room was on the second floor looking out to the six-lane street below. There was noise but that is to be expected given the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've stayed here before. And while we loved the location on our first stay, the hotel was rather dated. Well, they upgraded the beds, carpet and bathroom amenities in these very spacious rooms. Still the same free parking and a location that is hard to beat. Overall it's a great value in San Francisco! No pool, but the Bay Watch Restaurant downstairs was a good value for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a bridge view from the third floor! Well worth it and makes the room much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just let me tell you first, hotels in San Francisco are very expensive, so, for the same price you're going to pay here you can spend a night at the bellagio... But! For SF this hotel is a great option, good location (right on lombard, 6 blocks away from Van ness and 3 blocks to Union Street), you'll many places to eat near the hotel even late at night...
The room is big, nice bed and bathroom, great view of the street and parking for free (lots of it)
At the reception there are always free apples, and the guys there are kind and interested in making the best of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#35 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#7 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#55 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Address: 2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Hotwire so you can book your Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing