We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cow hollow inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #44 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cow hollow inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Once I found this little gem, it is where I always stay. I often come with grandkids and we can go anywhere by bus and leave the car patked. . Mels Diner is across the street and family friendly.
The beds are full size so sharing beds for the grandkids was tight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    222
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
130
173
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed here before and it was everything I needed. Affordable, safe on site parking included in rate and the friendliest staff it has ever been my pleasure to meet. BUT there have been some changes since I last stayed. All of the above is still true but they have remodeled. For what I pay I don't expect the Ritz just a comfortable place to lay my head. The new rooms are lovely and I would expect to pay far more than I do for a room this nice. Add that to everything else and it is still The Best Kept Secret in SF!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you do not want one of the city view room which face on to Lombard and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I was very pleased with our room, 311, very quiet, top floor. The room was clean and roomy. There had been a remodel and website pictures do not show just how nice rooms are. The best part of our stay was the location, there are many great places to eat on chestnut street , as well as Steiner and Fillmore streets. There is a Walgreens near by and the hop on hop off bus tour stop is across the street on Lombard. The front desk personnel, as. We'll as he housekeeping were very helpful. I would stay there again and definitely recommend to others. The price was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Have stayed at the Cow Hollow for years and if you can get an $89 - $109 room rate, grab it!
The rooms have been remodeled and although the beds are a bit hard, it is the perfect location and rooms are great for the price.
Chestnut street is out the door and it has every type of restaurant and coffee house you will need. Plus a great pizza place is across the street.
Also, the parking is free and this can cost you up to $65 in many hotels in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay View, WI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We decided to stay at Cow Hollow after reading many reviews and much research. Since we had a car we were looking for a place to stay that was easy to get into the city and out again. Underground parking included. The place has just been up-dated. Our room on the 3rd floor was very clean, comfy bed and new TV. It was a little loud facing Lombard Street, but the fan on heater drowned the noise out. Beautiful view of the city and great location. We were able to walk to resturants, shops, bars and the bay. Most touristy things were further away, but that was fine with us. If you walked a few blocks you could get a good view of the Golden Gate Bridge. I have to say this place was nicer than we had expected and for the price very much worth it. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lombard Street side a little noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Clean comfortable inn on the main strip to Golden Gate Bridge. 1 block from shops, restaurants, movie theatre. 2 blocks from park that leads to shopping and Fisherman's Warf. 3 blocks to marina where "Escape from Alcatraz" race takes place. Trendy market and street fairs are 2 blocks other direction. If you enjoy walking, everything is within 10-20 minutes. You won't feel guilty about eating as much chocolate at Ghiradelli's if you do the walking. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, NH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the process of renovating their rooms. We got one that was just completed and it was well done and very comfortable. The only complaint is that there was no information in the room about the television, internet and other services of the hotel.

The location is very convenient for walking to the fisherman's pier and other locations on the waterfront including the Presidio and Golden Gate Bridge. There are some nice restaurants and cafes on the adjoining block.

Room Tip: ask for an interior room or one on the back or side street if you want to avoid night time road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites

Address: 2190 Lombard Street, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.