We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget choice in the Castro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beck's Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beck's Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Beck's Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2222 Market Street, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #79 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Indiana
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Budget choice in the Castro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have stayed here many times. Free parking. Great neighborhood (Castro/Upper Market). F Street Car line stop is right there (unfortnately you hear the noise from the historic street cars in most rooms). Friendly staff. Odd gas wall heaters. You can walk everywhere. Not is the traditional touristy areas. A classic motel. Recommended for the budget minded single person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    130
    56
    19
    19
See reviews for
16
101
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A friend suggested Becks when I asked for a hotel in the Castro area. A few other friends said "No!" but after looking at the reviews and location we decided to make a reservation. I flew in but my travel companion drove up from San Diego. Having free parking was amazing, we actually never drove the car any of the four days we were there. Public transportation is literally outside your door. This isn't a five star resort, it's a motor lodge, if you're looking for pampered luxury this probably isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a decent place to stay that won't cost you your first born child that is also incredibly convenient to the Castro then Becks is a good choice. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and comfy. Card access to the upper levels made us feel safe though many people told us it took all the fun out of the place. One humorous note: If you're staying there and using Grndr you will get a ton of messages that simple say "Becks?" If hanky panky is what you're looking for it's available but also easy to avoid and nobody was pushy or creepy. All around I would definitely stay there again next time I am in SF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was a great location rooms clean and front desk and staff very nice and helpful. I'd def stay here again. The location of this place was within walking district to everything Castro! Coffee place Sweet Inspiration was my place to read the paper and relax.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to public transport. It is an average hotel, service is OK. Receptionist service is good and friendly. You pay the same price for a much better hotel in Las vegas for example. There are some good places to eat in the neighbourhood. They should definitely change their beds. They have very soft old matresses which could destroy your back. Some guests were very loud and noisy at night. There are also some funny looking people cruising around at night. Some of them like to spy through the windows. They do have some security, but I only saw the security guard one night during my 3 night stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Terrible customer service. They double billed my credit card even when reservation canceled. I had valid cancel number and date/time was well within their 24 hour policy. AVOID at all costs--stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecksMotorLodge, Owner at Beck's Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello,

It sounds like there must be some confusion - I am very sorry about that! If you have a valid cancellation number, and you canceled prior to 24 hours before arrival (3 pm the day before), you should not have been charged as a no-show and definitely not double charged. I am more than happy to look into this for you to get the situation settled. Please email me directly, BBeck@becksmotorlodge.com.

Thank you.

Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i love this motel. nice walking area. plenty of restaurants. refrigerator. free parking. comfy beds. not luxurious bit very comfortable with no stress. i stay here every time i'm in SF. some room have air conditioning. trolley availalble right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Off street parking was a major plus, especially after walking down one of the side streets coming back from lunch and seeing a broken car window with the glass still on the ground. I would recommend a second or third story room if you want some security. First floor rooms are literally open to the world. There is only one elevator and no hand carts for luggage were available the night we checked in.

Be prepared as most rooms don't have AC. We had windows open (there is a bar that prevents each window from opening more than 6") and the fan running. Even with the window open, the place was relatively quiet, especially considering that you are right on Market Street.

Yes, the complex is old, but the location is right. The front desk did claim they were planning to renovate the place this winter. The room was clean and modest, with a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a large closet. The bed was acceptable. Public transportation is a short walk away. In a nutshell, it served our purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beck's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Motor Lodge

Address: 2222 Market Street, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beck's Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Castro, Beck's Motor Lodge is surrounded by charming tree lined streets, unique restaurants and lively nightlife. We have a private sundeck where you will enjoy lovely views of the city. Public transportation via the historic streetcar is available outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beck's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Motor Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motel San Francisco
Becks Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motor Lodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beck's Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.