We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a night stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beck's Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beck's Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Beck's Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2222 Market Street, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (The Castro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Great place for a night stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was a great location rooms clean and front desk and staff very nice and helpful. I'd def stay here again. The location of this place was within walking district to everything Castro! Coffee place Sweet Inspiration was my place to read the paper and relax.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    166
    61
    20
    19
See reviews for
22
127
67
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to public transport. It is an average hotel, service is OK. Receptionist service is good and friendly. You pay the same price for a much better hotel in Las vegas for example. There are some good places to eat in the neighbourhood. They should definitely change their beds. They have very soft old matresses which could destroy your back. Some guests were very loud and noisy at night. There are also some funny looking people cruising around at night. Some of them like to spy through the windows. They do have some security, but I only saw the security guard one night during my 3 night stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Terrible customer service. They double billed my credit card even when reservation canceled. I had valid cancel number and date/time was well within their 24 hour policy. AVOID at all costs--stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecksMotorLodge, Owner at Beck's Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello,

It sounds like there must be some confusion - I am very sorry about that! If you have a valid cancellation number, and you canceled prior to 24 hours before arrival (3 pm the day before), you should not have been charged as a no-show and definitely not double charged. I am more than happy to look into this for you to get the situation settled. Please email me directly, BBeck@becksmotorlodge.com.

Thank you.

Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i love this motel. nice walking area. plenty of restaurants. refrigerator. free parking. comfy beds. not luxurious bit very comfortable with no stress. i stay here every time i'm in SF. some room have air conditioning. trolley availalble right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Off street parking was a major plus, especially after walking down one of the side streets coming back from lunch and seeing a broken car window with the glass still on the ground. I would recommend a second or third story room if you want some security. First floor rooms are literally open to the world. There is only one elevator and no hand carts for luggage were available the night we checked in.

Be prepared as most rooms don't have AC. We had windows open (there is a bar that prevents each window from opening more than 6") and the fan running. Even with the window open, the place was relatively quiet, especially considering that you are right on Market Street.

Yes, the complex is old, but the location is right. The front desk did claim they were planning to renovate the place this winter. The room was clean and modest, with a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a large closet. The bed was acceptable. Public transportation is a short walk away. In a nutshell, it served our purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is an older motor Inn with a few updates. While it is not a five star hotel, it is a fine place to stay if you want to be centrally located and have a car. The free parking is a MAJOR plus; there is also easy access to public transport just steps from your door to get elsewhere in the city. There are so many wonderful restaurants and cafes all within walking distance. We did have an A/C in our room but never had to use it, we just popped opened the windows, which cooled off the room well. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in one of the king size rooms, very quiet and clean we will stay again if we ever find ourselves in San Francisco again.

Room Tip: If you can't live without an A/C you need to stay in a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend of a friend...... it was a friend trip with 4 of us and we all stayed in the same room, rooms were very spacious for san fran, bathroom was very small but we made it work, we are all heavy packers and we had no problem sharing his room...clean room, check in and check out was easy
best thing about this hotel is the location, yes it is technically in the castro which is in the gay area but it is out of the main area of the castro and other than a gay flag at the entry you would never know this is near a gay area, literally right outside your front door is a bus line and a rail line, 2 blocks away is a subway line, we used public transportation the whole 8 days we were there and had no problem using it from this location, safe... never felt scared walking late at night like some other areas of san fran, lots of restaurants close by ...supermarket and coffee shop right acrossed the street
free parking-we didnt use it but in san fran this is hard to come by
awesome visit!!!!

Room Tip: great location!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beck's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Motor Lodge

Address: 2222 Market Street, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beck's Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Castro, Beck's Motor Lodge is surrounded by charming tree lined streets, unique restaurants and lively nightlife. We have a private sundeck where you will enjoy lovely views of the city. Public transportation via the historic streetcar is available outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beck's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Motor Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motel San Francisco
Becks Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motor Lodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beck's Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.