We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 24 Henry

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
24 Henry
24 Henry Street, At Noe Street, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed here several times while in SF. It's a comfortable play to stay. And the location is very accessible to the Mission District, the Castro, Haight/Ashbury and downtown. It's "old school" if that's ok with you. It hasn't been updated in awhile, but it's very clean. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is good. Not all the rooms have a private bath, but the price reflects that. It's also on a quiet street which I like.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
20
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at 24 Henry 3 times and that's the only place I consider staying at when going to San Francisco.
The location is great. Bus 37 to Twin Peaks is 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse, and it's in the heart of the Castro (gay neighborhood, vibrant, good night life, extremely safe). You can also walk to the Mission (10 minutes walk) and to Haight Ashbury. Also, streetcar F is a few steps from the guesthouse.
The prices are really very reasonable for everything you get (SF is expensive). The rooms are very comfortable (I stated in 3 of the 5). Each has its own style. The Mural room is especially lovely. Sure, some people will tell you that the house is a bit old and so it the furniture. I think it looks just fine and the person who decotated them did a good job. The master bedroom has its own bathroom ; for the other rooms, you'll share a bathroom, which I've always seen extremely clean. And it has a huge shower cubicle with a double shower head, which is definitely a nice touch.
And now for the best part : It's just like staying at one of your relatives! Walter, the owner, is a really sweet gentleman, very knowledgeable about stuff to do in the city, places to go, restaurants, hikes (he recommended a few hikes that I adored). He loves to discuss everything over coffee in the breakfast parlor. You can talk about politics, San Francisco...anything, he's a very interesting person to talk to. Also, i you aren't a chatty person he's not intrusive at all. He will introduce you to the other guests, who during my stays were also very interesting people. Breakfast is one of my favorite moments there. As a woman traveling alone, what could be lovelier than having your morning coffee chatting with a few charming and funny gentlemen? The atmosphere is friendly without being too much. I easily feel overwhelmed by people but that was never the case there. Also, I should mention that Walter's staff is also very friendly.
Breakfast is good. I saw some people on Tripasvisor didn't like the fact that there wasn't a real kitchen. I think the parlor room is a very nice place to have your coffee, juice, cereal and bagels. Walter even brings in the morning papers!
And to finish with, the fact that it's a gay (and very straight-friendly) guesthouse is also an important point : to my mind, it's importat that places like 24 Henry continue to exist, for the identity of the Castro and SF, but also to provide a welcoming place for gay (and straight) travellers).
To summerize it all : just go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had looked forward to the more personal experience when booking into 24 Henry from the reviews here on the site. I never experienced them. The place is dated, the decor are old, and the utilities from another age altogether. Breakfast is a couple of bagels placed in a cupboard in the living room. And so on. But location is good...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at 24 Henry this summer, opting for the master bedroom so we could have a private bath. The location is excellent, if you want to be in the Castro. Very easy to walk everywhere you need to.

I can only echo all the kind things that have been said about Walter.

Perhaps most useful would be to compare it to Inn on Castro which is just a couple blocks away, where we stayed just a year ago. In comparison, 24 Henry is an older property and has had more wear and tear. It's tastefully decorated and clean, but the door knobs are getting loose, and it just feels a bit old. Having said that we felt very comfortable there. Inn on Castro was newer, breakfast was better, but the management treated us indifferently on the best days and rudely on the worst days. Inn on Castro is also a bit pricier.

You get what you pay for, and when it comes to customer service, 24 Henry definitely gave us better vibes than Inn on Castro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recently spent a week at 24 Henry and we were very happy with the accommodations and reception. We needed to change rooms two times during the week because we had waited until fairly late to book and there wasn't a single room that was available for the full week, but this was not a problem. The house is on a pleasant, quiet street, near Castro but just far enough away from the bars so nice and quiet for sleeping, and we felt safe walking home at night from the MUNI and streetcar stops. Walter, the owner, and his co-workers were very friendly and talkative with guests, helpful with suggestions and directions. We spent the first night in the room that has its own bathroom and shower and the rest of the stay in rooms that had to use the washroom in the hall, but this was never a problem. This place has a cozy, welcoming character rather than looking like something chichi from a home-decor magazine, but the beds were fine and when you're out all day seeing the sights, all you need is a comfy, quiet place to sleep. The rates are also very reasonable compared with what we found at hotels and several other bed and breakfasts, so you can't expect the Fairmont.
A light breakfast (cereal, toast, muffins, coffee) is included each morning as well for those who would like to save even more money. You serve yourself and have to sit at a couch in the living room, since a table is not available. We preferred something more substantial to start our days so we usually ate breakfast at the Squat and Gobble nearby, a friendly place near Cafe Noe that serves nice omelettes and fruit, crepes, waffles, etc...
Walter has also generously included two computers in the living room for guests' use, which we found helpful for looking up sites, restaurants, etc. and he has many books and magazines on the area.
When we reserved he gave very clear, precise instructions on how to get there from the airport..easy to go on the BART train and then transfer to MUNI at Civic Center station.
There is a very nice French bistro, called L'Ardoise, just up the hill from the guest house, at Henry and Noe...which seems to be very popular..Had a delicious tarte tatin there for dessert one night, though we didn't have dinner there.
We left SF very happy with our accommodations choice and the great sleeps that we had each night. For one thing, the nice cool breeze at night in June made it great for sleeping compared to the often muggy hot nights on the east coast at this time of year!
I'd happily recommend this to others as long as you recognize not to expect four stars, but you do get a warm and friendly welcome from Walter. Thanks, Walter!

Room Tip: There is one room that has its own bathroom if you dont like the idea of having to share one with ot...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Our stay in San Francisco was touched by our stay at 24 Henry. The location, friendliness of the staff and value for money are marvellous.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here at the winter off-season rate. See website for Jan/Feb reduced rates - look for box at bottom of reservations page. We paid significantly less than $100/night, even with the taxes. They have one room with private bath (Room 5). The other four rooms share one bath, with a separate WC out in the hall. We never had to wait for bathroom. Rooms are clean and cozy. Rooms have a TV, but no phone, safe, frig or other amenities. There is a phone in the front parlour. All rooms are on the second floor with no elevator. The included breakfast is served in the parlour all morning long until all guests are done eating. Guests can use the frig and microwave. There are two Internet computer stations in the parlour; one with a printer. Its about a 5 minute walk to Market Street. The neighborhood is quite safe. One night will be charged to your credit card when the room is reserved. Parking in the neighborhood requires a resident permit Mon-Fri 8AM-9PM if parking over 2 hours (you can't get a permit - the guest house has none to use - permits are only for true residents). There are no parking restrictions overnight or on weekends. There is a parking garage on Noe & Market, but we understand it is about $20/day. The host/owner Walter is very pleasant. He also owns a second guest house, Village House, just off of Castro Street. The two guest houses share the 24 Henry website. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5, with private bath, is the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 24 Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 Henry

Address: 24 Henry Street, At Noe Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Henry guest house is a friendly and inexpensive bed and breakfast. We are located in the gay, lesbian and alternative area of San Francisco, the Castro District. Guests come from all over the world to relax and "be themselves" in our neighborhood where almost every store, restaurant and bar is at least gay and lesbian friendly, and is more likely gay and lesbian owned and managed. 24 Henry is hetero-sexual friendly. We offer a free continental breakfast buffet every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
24 Henry Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 24 Henry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 24 Henry to your Saves list