We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 24 Henry

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
24 Henry
Save
You added 24 Henry to your Saves list
24 Henry Street, At Noe Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (The Castro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at 24 Henry this summer, opting for the master bedroom so we could have a private bath. The location is excellent, if you want to be in the Castro. Very easy to walk everywhere you need to.

I can only echo all the kind things that have been said about Walter.

Perhaps most useful would be to compare it to Inn on Castro which is just a couple blocks away, where we stayed just a year ago. In comparison, 24 Henry is an older property and has had more wear and tear. It's tastefully decorated and clean, but the door knobs are getting loose, and it just feels a bit old. Having said that we felt very comfortable there. Inn on Castro was newer, breakfast was better, but the management treated us indifferently on the best days and rudely on the worst days. Inn on Castro is also a bit pricier.

You get what you pay for, and when it comes to customer service, 24 Henry definitely gave us better vibes than Inn on Castro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
1
20
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recently spent a week at 24 Henry and we were very happy with the accommodations and reception. We needed to change rooms two times during the week because we had waited until fairly late to book and there wasn't a single room that was available for the full week, but this was not a problem. The house is on a pleasant, quiet street, near Castro but just far enough away from the bars so nice and quiet for sleeping, and we felt safe walking home at night from the MUNI and streetcar stops. Walter, the owner, and his co-workers were very friendly and talkative with guests, helpful with suggestions and directions. We spent the first night in the room that has its own bathroom and shower and the rest of the stay in rooms that had to use the washroom in the hall, but this was never a problem. This place has a cozy, welcoming character rather than looking like something chichi from a home-decor magazine, but the beds were fine and when you're out all day seeing the sights, all you need is a comfy, quiet place to sleep. The rates are also very reasonable compared with what we found at hotels and several other bed and breakfasts, so you can't expect the Fairmont.
A light breakfast (cereal, toast, muffins, coffee) is included each morning as well for those who would like to save even more money. You serve yourself and have to sit at a couch in the living room, since a table is not available. We preferred something more substantial to start our days so we usually ate breakfast at the Squat and Gobble nearby, a friendly place near Cafe Noe that serves nice omelettes and fruit, crepes, waffles, etc...
Walter has also generously included two computers in the living room for guests' use, which we found helpful for looking up sites, restaurants, etc. and he has many books and magazines on the area.
When we reserved he gave very clear, precise instructions on how to get there from the airport..easy to go on the BART train and then transfer to MUNI at Civic Center station.
There is a very nice French bistro, called L'Ardoise, just up the hill from the guest house, at Henry and Noe...which seems to be very popular..Had a delicious tarte tatin there for dessert one night, though we didn't have dinner there.
We left SF very happy with our accommodations choice and the great sleeps that we had each night. For one thing, the nice cool breeze at night in June made it great for sleeping compared to the often muggy hot nights on the east coast at this time of year!
I'd happily recommend this to others as long as you recognize not to expect four stars, but you do get a warm and friendly welcome from Walter. Thanks, Walter!

Room Tip: There is one room that has its own bathroom if you dont like the idea of having to share one with ot...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our stay in San Francisco was touched by our stay at 24 Henry. The location, friendliness of the staff and value for money are marvellous.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here at the winter off-season rate. See website for Jan/Feb reduced rates - look for box at bottom of reservations page. We paid significantly less than $100/night, even with the taxes. They have one room with private bath (Room 5). The other four rooms share one bath, with a separate WC out in the hall. We never had to wait for bathroom. Rooms are clean and cozy. Rooms have a TV, but no phone, safe, frig or other amenities. There is a phone in the front parlour. All rooms are on the second floor with no elevator. The included breakfast is served in the parlour all morning long until all guests are done eating. Guests can use the frig and microwave. There are two Internet computer stations in the parlour; one with a printer. Its about a 5 minute walk to Market Street. The neighborhood is quite safe. One night will be charged to your credit card when the room is reserved. Parking in the neighborhood requires a resident permit Mon-Fri 8AM-9PM if parking over 2 hours (you can't get a permit - the guest house has none to use - permits are only for true residents). There are no parking restrictions overnight or on weekends. There is a parking garage on Noe & Market, but we understand it is about $20/day. The host/owner Walter is very pleasant. He also owns a second guest house, Village House, just off of Castro Street. The two guest houses share the 24 Henry website. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5, with private bath, is the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

we slept in this very nice old victorian house in castro district. the house was realy beautiful we could enjoy the stay here alot. the rooms are nice, silent and not faw away from everything. the room was clean and even the shared bathroom was okay. But for the cleaning there is still space for improvement :) the host are very friendly and they gave us a lot of information what to do. You can get here in contatc with a lot of other guys from all over the world. Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

we slept in this very nice old victorian house in castro district. the house was realy beautiful we could enjoy the stay here alot. the rooms are nice, silent and not faw away from everything. the room was clean and even the shared bathroom was okay. But for the cleaning there is still space for improvement :) the host are very friendly and they gave us a lot of information what to do. You can get here in contatc with a lot of other guys from all over the world. Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is not the Ritz. BUT....It`s probably one of the most welcoming and cosy guest houses that you`ll find anywhere. It`s clean but quirky, with a great atmosphere, and minutes from the Castro. Walter, John and the rest of the staff make this a place to come back to (in my case 20 times now).....nuff said!
This is my second home in SF. Long may it continue to give its guests a big hug, and leave them smiling. Prices are great in this no frills, but characterful place. Love it!
Anyone giving this place a poor review deserves all the bad Karma coming to them.
I should have written this review years ago.......

Room Tip: To avoid the trash dumpsters....a back room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#173 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#54 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#4 of 73 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 73 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 24 Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 Henry

Address: 24 Henry Street, At Noe Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Henry guest house is a friendly and inexpensive bed and breakfast. We are located in the gay, lesbian and alternative area of San Francisco, the Castro District. Guests come from all over the world to relax and "be themselves" in our neighborhood where almost every store, restaurant and bar is at least gay and lesbian friendly, and is more likely gay and lesbian owned and managed. 24 Henry is hetero-sexual friendly. We offer a free continental breakfast buffet every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
24 Henry Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 24 Henry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.