We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro Swank with Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cova Hotel to your Saves list
Cova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Euro Swank with Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of pretty much all of the "sights" of San Francisco. If feeling too exhausted or full from eating at Pearl's to walk down to the Pier, the hotel has a free shuttle with scheduled times for pick up. I can't say enough about how helpful and wonderful the staff at the Cova were to us. It was great and would definitely go back and stay at the Cova.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovaMgr, General Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Dear MN Biker Chick,

Thank you for choosing the Cova Hotel and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the convenient complimentary shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    291
    116
    46
    31
See reviews for
124
226
45
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SPAIN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Although first glimpse of the area was a little on the 'rough' side, once we heard of the free shuttle to union square and fisherman's warf, we made ourselves right at home. The breakfast was supurb, the staff was beyond gracious, specifically concierge Chris. He went out of his way on multiple occasions to cater to a couple of needs we had.
The breakfast was nice. Fresh waffles were a delight, the coffe was fair, and they had a great choice of fruits.
Cova was the icing on the cake to the great city of San Francisco!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovaMgr, General Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear SPN Travel,

Thanks for choosing the Cova Hotel for your San Francisco trip and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad Chris provided the excellent guest service that our hotel is known for. He is a great part of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I spent 5 days at the Cova Hotel in San Francisco while we were attending a conference at the Hilton. We chose the Cova because it's reasonable walking distance to the Hilton, serves a daily breakfast (lines can be long for that in SF restaurants) and the price was right. The hotel itself has a modern minimalist lobby and our room was comfortable enough (though a heavy duvet seems like overkill for mild SF weather). The breakfasts were adequate, but nothing special - hard-boiled eggs, lukewarm waffles, yogurt with/dried cranberries, granola and occasionally fresh blueberries, and a choice of cereals. The only extraordinary aspect of the breakfast is the chance to eat on the roof, which provides some great views of the city. Even if you don't eat breakfast, we recommend going to the 8th floor to see the views.

We had read the previous reviews about the neighborhood, but thought that the "dodginess" of the neighborhood simply referred to SF's panhandlers, who have always been numerous in our past visits. I'll be a bit more descriptive because it may help other travelers. I'll start by saying no one on the street bothered us once when we walked to and from our hotel for the entire 5 days. That said, my husband & I (who are fairly young and normally have little fear in urban areas) resolved on the first day to always go to & from the hotel as a couple - never alone. Everyday on our walk to/from Cova, we'd specifically see drug deals, street sex workers, shouting and occasional physical altercations between street people. In the hotel, we would hear occasional shouting at night. Again, we never had any direct interactions with any of the people who have street turf around the Cova so I don't think they have any interest in the hotel guests, but the neighborhood did make our stay more stressful than relaxing. Yet, one could also say that this was a memorable experience.

There are so many small hotels in San Francisco, that I'd definitely make a different choice next time and be sure that we avoid this area of town - even a hotel a few blocks North and East would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovaMgr, General Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Dear DynamicDuo,

Thank you for choosing the Cova Hotel for your recent visit to San Francisco. More importantly, thanks for sharing your review of Cova with your fellow travelers. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your room.

I understand your concern about Cova Hotel's location. Since we are located in downtown San Francisco, some interesting city life occurs in the area. I want to assure you and TripAdvisor readers that Cova takes all necessary security precautions to ensure the safety of our guests, which was evidenced by you and your husband's safety at our hotel during your stay. We also offer complimentary transportation to the Union Square area, Moscone Center, and other surrounding areas for the convenience of our guests. We encourage you and our future guests to take advantage of our complimentary transportation during your stay.

Thank you again for choosing the Cova Hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at any time with any questions, concerns, or for additional assistance.

Warm Regards,
Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hotel was pretty...The style that it portrayed did not fit the location of the city...I think the front doors being locked at night is a fine example of that...Parking was not included in your stay...The walls are THIN...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Very nice hotel, very impress with the room and the cleaness - very good value :)
unfortunately the location wasn't that impressive, though it's located at downtown however the neighbourhoods wasn't that good and the manager Germaine - very nice person

Overall, it's value for money

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Location was a little dicey, but the hotel was awesome. We recieved fabulous and personal attention from the staff, particularly Armando, Latoya and Charles. They were exceptionally helpful. Our room was wonderful, and more than expected. There were many other choices in SF, but I would never stay at any other hotel than this one. Parking was reasonable in a city that seems to gouge for everything, and we enjoyed this experience immensely. I would recommend this hotel for anyone willing to stay a bit out of the mainstream and have nicer rooms at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We spent three nights over the 4th of July weekend. We had a very late check-in. The front doors were locked at night due to its location. We were told to pull into the parking structure and have the parking attendant let us in. We paid for parking for the length of our stay - $25/night. We were given a discount on the first night of parking since we arrived late. The late night staff didn't speak very much English but we checked in without any issues.

The room itself was a little small (narrow) but was very clean and nicely decorated. There was a small flat panel TV mounted on the wall. There were two Queen beds that were extremely comfortable. Probably the best hotel bed I've ever slept on. I believe there was a mattress pad as well as a down comforter and an additional blanket at the end of the bed.

A small desk with the usual accomodations was situated in the corner. The reason for the 4 out of 5 rating is the room didn't have any air conditioning. We had to sleep with the sliding glass door slightly opened for air circulation. Otherwise, the room would have been really stuffy. A screen door would have been nice to keep anything from flying in. With the door open overnight and from 7 floors up, we heard everything from sirens to people yelling.

The bathroom was decorated in a modern design with bamboo bath accessories. There was a spa-like feel to it. The bath towels were quite large which was nice.

The hotel offered free continental breakfast every morning - which was pretty good. They served waffles, toast, english muffins, cup of noodles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, apple juice, cranberry juice, milk, and orange juice. The staff worked very hard to keep everything well stocked.

Overall I think this hotel is a great find. The area was kind of shady when we were driving up at 3am, but when we pulled into the parking lot, security wasn't an issue. We had no problems walking around in the area during the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.