We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the middle of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cova Hotel to your Saves list
Cova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the middle of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, very good service from all the staff. Always ready to help you.Room are clean, It is worth to buy the bus, tramways pass. You can go around very easily. The surrounding of the hotel is not the best but the service, their free shuttle service and the price is worth the consideration

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for giving us an in depth overview of your entire experience and also by providing tips and suggestions on this review. Other travelers reading this review would most certainly appreciate this. I'm proud to hear that my staff did an amazing job in providing excellent service and that you were also able to take advantage of the complimentary services and amenities we offered.

Have a fantastic and Happy Holiday Season. We do hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    287
    115
    45
    31
See reviews for
124
221
45
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made two reservations for two "city view" rooms with king size bed. Got two on the first floor with view to a wall just above the noisy valet parking.
Frontdesk lady at night really rude with no idea of customer service. Never apologized for not having the rooms reservation was made for. Supposedly no rooms available, but after complaining 10 minutes she found a room available, but she said i had to leave it early next morning because it was 50 usd more expensive than my reservation.
I travel a lot, and usually if the room you make the reservation for is not available, you receive an upgrade for the full stay. Anyway, i was tired, took that room and moved to another room next morning. That room was ok.
That was about one room. The second room (the noisy one on the first floor with "wall view" instead of city view i had to keep it for the 5 day stay.
In general, Hotel rooms are clean and ok. Parking service is good to be in a city like San Fco. Would reccommend it, but staff rudeness and no respect for reservation is something not acceptable.
Night Staff needs some training on customer care and service right away.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We deeply apologize that the service we provide here did not meet your expectations and that the room that we provided you was unfortunately not the room type that you had reserved. I would like to investigate further so that I will be able to remedy the situation. When you have the time could you please e-mail me at matthew.salvan@covahotel.com so that I can see what happened with your reservation.

We always try our best to meet the guest requests and there are some cases where we are unable to honor a request. When I investigate, it will allow me to determine if your room type was guaranteed for the city view.

As for the attitude of the Front Desk Agent. I apologize that she was not helpful during the time of your check-in. I am positive that if we had the room available she would have provided your room of your liking but seeing how it was unavailable, I can surely see your frustration.

Again, please contact me so I can investigate further. Your review will not be overlooked and I will make sure to contact you back with my findings. Thank you for your response and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince albert, sk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because the free shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. I understood this was not the most upscale location, we felt safe the entire time. The staff were amazing. Lawrence is very knowledgeable and always willing to offer advice he is fun and always smiling. Glenn (The Music Man) was our driver most of the time, he is funny and witty he also loves to listen to his tunes and might even add a little fun to the ride.

MrCrave restaurant has excellent food at a decent price. Breakfasts were always fresh and delicious and the menu items were very flavorful.

The beds and pillows are not much to rave about and we felt the carpet could use a spot cleaning. For us service out weighed the comfort.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm very proud Lorence and Glenn were able to accommodate you with great service. Both of them are a pleasure to work with. Glenn loves to sing and entertain the desk also. You can catch his shows every Wednesday night in the lobby. heheheh... We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and offer value amenities and i'm glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 771-3000 or email me directly at matthew.salvan@covahotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't fault hotel was good. Eilis St was a experience. It was dirty and smelly. It was full of addicts looking for money. In morning they were like zombies. Didn't feel safe walking to or from the hotel and was worse at night time. The second day of our visit we used taxi to return to hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered while staying at the Cova Hotel. We are in the center of downtown San Francisco. With that being said, the vivid city life that surrounds our hotel can be alarming. As you know, we take various precautions to alleviate our guest of these potentially unwanted experiences through our complimentary shuttle service that drops and picks you up at key parts of the city. We are also working closely with the local city government to do more in stimulating our neighborhood.

Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience, and we hope that you can give us another chance to give you our excellent customer service. Feel free to contact me if there is anything I can do to remedy the situation at matthew.salvan@covahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

great hotel just spent 2 nights there on a visit from the uk, reception staff were fantastic and very very helpful.like in other reviews the location isn't great but it's only a ten minute walk to union square and hotel has free shuttle bus

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm very proud that my staff was able to accommodate you with great service. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and offer value amenities and i'm glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to our location. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle we offer and that it as able to make you feel more comfortable in the area. The walk from the hotel going to union square is indeed about 10 minutes and all you have to do is avoid one street to have a more pleasant view of the streets. Only registered guest can enter the hotel lobby and elevators at all times so i'm glad that you felt secure while staying with us.

We do hope to see you in the near future. May you have a Happy Holiday Season and many more successful hotel stays to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted a hotel near Union Square, and I was traveling on a budget ... just a quick weekend stay. In recent years, the Tenderloin district of San Francisco has suffered because of a dramatic increase in homeless. The area south of Market has been revitalized, pushing them into this area. But, I must say, while there were quite a few of them around at night, they weren't aggressive and I felt safe while walking there.

The hotel has an OK restaurant, "Mr. Crave" which served an (included) breakfast buffet. It was pretty good. The room was nice, and except for the downtown sirens at night, it was quiet. Can't blame the hotel for that! I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: At check-in, I was offered a choice of "a good view, or a quiet room" ... I took the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. There are a lot of hotels in San Francisco that are very reasonably priced and the service and amenities are more than adequate. With our complimentary continental breakfast, shuttle service to assigned areas in the city and Wi-Fi service, our price point is very competitive and even better than other hotels in the city. . Fortunately, we are one of those hotels that exemplify COmfort and VAlue.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future to provide you great service and the room of your choice. The tip that you provided future guests is surely a great help to those reading your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cova is nice if you just stays at the hotell. Rooms and reception is good. But its located in the ghetto, you dont wanna go there by night if you dont want to get crack or a hooker. The restaruant (not owned by cova) is one of the worst places i've went to. No service at all, took about 15 minutes just to get a menu when it was 6 other guest dining. The food i dont gonna waste time on, you gonna throw up... We had breakfast "included" there aswell, and is was awfull. I wanted a french toast as an extra, 8,85 dollar, but after 20 minutes i canceled it. The chief was in the bar doing nothing but the waitress said that it was finished after I complained at her. So if you planned to go here, think twice. Its in SFs worst ghetto, everyone says that you should not go there, and the service around the hotell is the worst ever. This hotell deserves a better location and a own restaurant. DONT GO HERE!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered where Cova Hotel is located. We are in the center of downtown San Francisco. With that being said, the vivid city life that surrounds our hotel can be alarming. As you know, we take various precautions to alleviate our guest of these potentially unwanted experiences through our complimentary shuttle service that drops and picks you up at key parts of the city. We are also working closely with the local city government to do more in stimulating our neighborhood.

We are located in the tenderloin, which is very unique part of San Francisco and we do not hide that from our guests. Our front desk agents are so knowledgeable advising our guests which area or streets to pass up to make them feel safe about the area. On the other hand, we do not have control over our neighborhood.

Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience, and we hope that you can give us another chance to give you our excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.