We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cova Hotel to your Saves list
Cova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The only slight negative which has been pointed out by other reviewers is the tenderloin area. There are a particularly large number of homeless people in this area and it can at times make you feel slightly intimidated. However myself and my wife chose to walk everywhere and didn't have any trouble. If it bothers you there is a free shuttle bus service from the hotel.

The hotel itself is lovely, very modern with a fantastic staff (special mention to michael e who was very friendly and approchable and kindly arranged a discounted shuttle bus transfer). The breakfast on the top floor was always delicious and there were nice views from the roof terrace. There was free wifi facilities and modern flat screen televisions. The hotel also featured a basic but modern fitness centre. If we ever return to san francisco we would have no hesitations about staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    292
    116
    46
    31
See reviews for
124
226
46
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived at Cova Hotel on our honeymoon!! Checked in and got a free upgrade. 5 stars to Lotoya!! We were delighted. Wow, what a room....bigger than the bottom half of our house at home....fantastic room. No complaints at all....very clean and fresh....Great Hotel
Lovely staff. Very helpful and friendly! Guided us in the right direction for everything. The free shuttle bus is great and cheap way of travelling. Free breakfast every morning! Not much of a choice but done us fine until we got out to our destination.
Yes the tenderlion area is right on the doorstep, but seriuosly NOTHING to worry about. Its fine to walk by in the day time, but a bit scary at night time, so taxi back to the hotel. An eye opener.... You can walk to union square in ten mins. Easy to get to. You find your way around and different streets to use after a day or two.
Fishermans Wharf is excellent and plenty to do, so make sure to visit.
Alcatraz amazing!!! Make sure to book your tickets online a week or two before you go to San Francisco to avoid dissapointment, as you will not get a ticket daily.
Golden Gate Bridge amazing!!! Make sure to walk the bridge for amazing views and experience.
Bring a jacket or warm clothing as San Francisco is cold. We got two nice days and two cold days. The hop on/hop off bus was great way of seeing the city, so make sure to do that.

Overall, delighted with our stay in San Fran. Would defo recommend COVA Hotel... :)

Room Tip: Use the shuttle bus as often as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really recommend this hotel!!! The area wasn't not the most chic but still worth it. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are modern and comfortable, bathrooms are new and with a lots of goodies.
They have free internet, free (very good!) breakfast and free shuttle service to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf many times a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is my first trip to San Francisco and I received a very warm welcome from Mr Mark G and Mr Bhunthan P at COVA. They were really humble & sweet and checked us in as quick as possible !! Excellent room, very clean, quick check in and the staff was very cooperative and helpful. They guided us to the best tours available around !! We had options to stay at Marriott & Hilton at discounted prices but we chose COVA and that was the right one !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The area wasn't brilliant but with very specific and caring directions you can be in Union Square in 10 mins walking. The hotel also provide a free shuttle service to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel provides a free breakfast and has a great rooftop area. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were very pleased with the clean and friendly enviroment. The only draw back was the neighborhood was not the best. But we had no problems getting around. Angelo and the staff were very fun to deal with . They went out of their way to make our trip comfortable. If you are looking for a clean updated and a great price. Don't be put off by the surroundings. Shuttles take you were you need to go.
Cheryl, Lodi Ca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Cova hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. For the price we could not have found a better hotel. They offer a great shuttle service which is a life saver in a city that has absolutely no parking anywhere, well unless you want to pay an arm and a leg. The staff was so friendly and helpful especially when it came to recommending activities, tours, and restaurants. The only complaints we have is that the walls are a little thin and you can hear everything that is going on next door to you and while the breakfast was wonderful and convenient, it would have been better if they had two waffle makers due to the long wait. We will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.