We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach

North Beach
Broadway at Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Chinatown)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
San Francisco Crooked Street Advanced Segway Tour
Ranked #51 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: History Museums, Neighborhoods, Beaches, Cultural
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Most of this neighborhood's former beatnik charm is retained while adding fine cuisine to its claim to fame.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Some of my favorite restaraunts are located in North Beach. A nice area to walk to other nearby areas (like china town) and one can easily catch a cable car to the warf.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    64
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We rented an apartment in North Beach for our week visit to SF, so glad we did. Great neighborhood, great vibe, lots of good restaurants, and great location for walking or picking up public transportation. We would stay in this neighborhood on a return trip for sure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Love the city of San Fran!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Use Public transportation and do as much as you possibly can while in San Francisco. Have clam chowder and fish and chips along the wharf while listening to the sea lions bark. Get over to the Ferry Building and have lite bites from many of the food vendors. Do not miss my favorite spot, Original Joe's for a beer and a burger that you will never forget. Get a second wind while having an Irish coffee on just about any block in town. Be sure to have some original fish and chips and your share of Italian food.Take in a play, a comedy or catch some live music. Visit a unique bar that the locals visit daily. I chose Homestead. Get out of the city and explore the Golden Gate Park or walk along the beach. Shop till you drop! Get to a department store and take advantage of a sale for new pants in a larger size! (Macey's usually has the best prices! Pack an umbrella in your backpack and be prepared for rain. Plan to exercise when you get back home. It will all be worth it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The restaurants and coffee places are yummy! I love all the architecture and historical part of it. Almost getting in Downtown are my favorite places, The Saloon, the oldest bar in San Francisco, Vesuvio, where Jack Kerouac used to meet Allen Ginsberg and The Beat Museum. Grab a Napa Valley wine bottle and just hang with your friends at Washington Square Park.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Interesting neighborhood, stop by for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I walked through this neighborhood after walking down Lombard St, on my self-guided walking tour of the city. Many interesting-looking small restaurants and cafes, lots of people, and lots of activity. So hard to choose a place to eat... luckily I had the Tripadvisor app on my phone to help me out!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach also viewed

 

Been to North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.