We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area to visit as a part of your SF tour.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach

North Beach
Broadway at Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94111 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit North Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Lombard Street Segway Tour
Ranked #90 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Most of this neighborhood's former beatnik charm is retained while adding fine cuisine to its claim to fame.
Kenner, Louisiana
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great area to visit as a part of your SF tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Take your time to stroll this area with it's unique residential area and shopping. Get on your walking shoes, as SF is a walking, not riding place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    11
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must see and do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This summer was my second trip to San Fran as we holidayed there last summer as well. Someone told us last summer a visit to North Beach was a must so we went. It definitely is a must! Wonderful food everywhere you go! Great Gelato and many shops to pick from. I just love walking around the whole area as it is kept so unique and clean. Washington Square is on one end which is a beautiful park where you can sit and eat your gelato or you can sit on the outdoor patio across the street at Mario's Bohemian Cigar Store and have the most wonderful cappuccino! As we were on a motorcycle, parking is not a problem. This is my favorite area of San Francisco .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“San Francisco Night Tour (by car)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have lived in San Francisco my entire life. This is my favorite tour when visitors come. I still love taking this tour. This is the San Francisco night tour in a car. Bring a coat, dress warm. In you love night photography, this tour will not disappoint. See notes at the end about how to take night time photos. Estimated duration is about 3 hours starting and ending in downtown San Francisco.

1) Go to Twin Peaks just prior to sunset and stay until dark. Just make sure the fog is not coming in when you go. Incredible by day, magical by night. Must be a fog free night. From anywhere downtown, just look up to twin peaks, if the fog is coming over the top, go another day.
2) Proceed across the Golden Gate Bridge to Hendrik point. Bring a flash light (not required) and take the 5 minute walk out to the point, you will not be disappointed. The best picture spot to see the Golden Gate Bridge with San Francisco in the background. Again, should be a relatively fog free night.
3) Return back across the bridge and go to Fort Point. Another great shot looking up at the bridge.
4) Proceed to the Palace of Fine Arts.
5) Drive down Lombard St (the crooked St).
6) Drive down Filbert St (the steepest St). When exiting Lombard, turn right and go 3 blocks to Union, turn right go 1 block to Hyde, turn right and go 1 block to Filbert. Make sure to stop the car right at the crest.
7) Go to Coit Tower. Walk around the base of the tower as well as going to the southern point of the park to view downtown and the lite show on the Bay Bridge.

How to take great night time pictures with a point and shoot.
1) Turn the flash off for any pictures without people in them.
2) Set the self-timer to 2 or 10 seconds, this eliminates blur.
3) Place the camera on a level surface (or tripod if available).
4) Shoot

You can thank me later for the great night time photos you will get.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Mexico
1 review
“Dylon Tours on 782 Columbus Ave, SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Italian cousins, some friends and I (total 10 persons) were taken on a fantastic private van tour by Brendan.
We are all good walkers, so I asked Brendan to take us to places in the City more difficult to reach by BART or Muni. He also added on a trip to the Marin Headlands for an amazing view. Although I am a native San Franciscan (as are Brendan and Dillon), I learned a lot about our beautiful City. Brendan is very knowledgeable about SF history, architecture and music. He stopped at intervals and whenever requested. We were picked up and drop off at our location of preference. I very highly recommend Dillon tours for it's personal and creative service.
Dawn Isaacs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Never get tired of coming here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great city to visit, many neighborhoods with such diversity. Awesome food, shopping and attractions. Easy public transportation including getting from the airport to the city. We never rent a car, just hop on the Bart from the airport ($8), head into the city and walk around from there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.