We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great harbour with ...lots of food and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Wharf

Fisherman's Wharf
Jefferson Street, Between Hyde and Powell Streets, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)
+1 415-673-3530
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #66 of 373 attractions in San Francisco
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Neighborhoods
Activities: Dining, Shopping, City walk sightseeing, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic Fisherman's Wharf is the classic San Francisco experience where you will find a range of hotels, specialty restaurants, famous attractions, unique shops, breathtaking scenery and entertainment for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A great harbour with ...lots of food and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best place to do the following:
- take photos at the harbour, with the street performers
- try the crabs. these are amazing,
- get on the cruiser to Alcatraz island for half day
- just chill out and watch people
highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    855
    427
    148
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Touristy but still go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Yes, it is one of the biggest tourist traps in the known world but it is still worth a visit. The views are incredible and the area is very clean and worth seeing. We did not eat in any of the restaurants which were brimming with people and long lines or shop in the businesses, but still enjoyed walking and looking at the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz in the distance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno , CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's fun, touristy, thats why you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is so much to see and do in this area. Eat, shop, people watch, or just do nothing and watch views of the bay from every angle. There are always "street" performers with different acts. It does fill up fast some days. Earlier is always better for me.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful spot of the city--must try the crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

me and Jasmine went to SF in Feb and stayed by the wharf at Radisson hotel, this is the only hotel have the access directly to the wharf area. Crabs are amazing, 15$ you can have a giant one, enough for 2. Also we went on the cruiser to Alcatraz island for half day, awesome place to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family Fun at Every Turn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I’s a busy location, so expect tons of people wandering around, it’s one of the most well known tourist attractions in North America. Part of that hustle and bustle is it’s charm, it’s full of energy for adults and children. The street performers were a hit with my kids. Yet don’t let the opportunity pass to try some fresh crab or seafood while in the area that it’s famous for.

Fisherman’s Wharf is best known for being the location of Pier 39, the Cannery Shopping Center, Ghirardelli Square, a Ripley’s Believe it or Not museum, the Wax Museum, and restaurants and stands that serve fresh seafood, most notably dungeness crab and clam chowder served in a sourdough bread bowl.

MUST SEES:

~ Boudin Bakery At The Wharf
A marvel to experience, the Boudin Bakery down the street from the Wharf was the birthplace of Boudin sourdough bread. “In 1849, the Boudin family struck culinary gold. Wild yeasts in the San Francisco air had imparted a unique tang to their traditional French bread, giving rise to ‘San Francisco sourdough French bread.’ “.

Cool fact? The starter they use for ALL their sourdough baking, even today, is from the original 1849 batch. WOW! At the front of the building is an observation window with a speaker, so you can ask the baker questions as they create different shapes with the dough.

You’ll also notice that the factory pumps out fresh sourdough air into the streets. While watching and smelling, you can’t not help but to go in and explore. There’s a shop, restaurant and cafe.

We bought a fresh sourdough roll to share {they are huge!}. We would have stayed to eat more, but we had just eaten. So, we bought a couple cans of their Clam Chowder to take home.

~ Water Sightseeing Tours
We went on the RocketBoat, a speedboat from Blue & Gold Fleet that tours the San Francisco Bay for a half hour at 50mph. I wasn’t sure if the turns, jumps, and splashing would agree with the kids too much {especailly my 4yo twins}, but they loved it. We got to see some sights real close up, like the Golden Gate Bridge and the Oakland Bay Bridge.

Whether standing on the waterfront by Pier 39, or by touring boat as you leave the shore, you’ll spot an area of hundreds of sea lions. There for most of the year, I’ve never seen so many Sea Lions in one spot before.

~ Fog Harbour Fish House
For dinner one night we all met at Fog Harbour, a fish house and San Francisco dining landmark.

The restaurant was created by the family who developed PIER 39, the history spans over three decades and includes three generations. So, its one of those places that you can take pride in supporting and enjoying. But the food? Devine! From fresh seafood entrees and appetizers, right down to the Chicken Fingers and fries that my kids ordered, it’s delicious.

As well, Fog Harbour is the first and only restaurant on Fisherman’s Wharf to offer a 100% sustainable seafood menu based on recommendations by Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch and Aquarium of the Bay. I recommend the lobster!

A tip from me - Order the Strawberry Daiquiri, it was the ideal drink after a long and hot day of sightseeing. Its made with real strawberries too, so have a couple {or three}. I loved enjoyingn the experience via waterfront dining – watching that sun set off the coast is fabulous. You can actually see both the Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge right from your table.

I suggest getting a San Francisco CityPASS ticket booklet for each member of your family. Discounts on admissions and attractions with free coupons too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list