We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any Visit To The Bay Is Exciting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Bay

San Francisco Bay
San Francisco, CA
1-415-788-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Visit San Francisco Bay like an insider
Special Offer
$29*
and up
San Francisco Duck Tour
Activities: Kayaking, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers hiking and biking along its shores, paddling and sailing on top of its surface, and bird-watching and exploring among its wetlands.
Modesto
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Any Visit To The Bay Is Exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

There are numerous vista points to see the bay. The best ones are from the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf, Crissy Field, Point Richmond, the Berkeley Pier, Treasure Island, Sausalito, the Tiburon waterfront and Emeryville. Access to the views are low cost to free, depending on toll and parking choices. The best time of day to see the Bay is in the afternoon after the fog has burned off or on clear mornings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    711
    95
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
547 reviews 547 reviews
221 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Bike around the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the Bay a couple times while in SF. One time we walked around to a few places & another time we rented bikes so we could cover more ground.

It's a beautiful bay to walk around, take in the views & do some people watching. We saw people swimming in the freezing cold water and watched a bunch of kite surfers get their gear ready before they went into the bay to take advantage of all the wind SF has.

The land was flat all around the bay (besides the hill that gets you up to the Golden Gate Bridge) so it's easy for anyone to enjoy.

Even though you're still in the city it feels like you're in a park when you're by the bay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Golden Gate Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

After years planning, last january i've finally visited San Franscisco and one of its famous attractions, Golden Gate Bridge. I really loved it. Walking through the bridge is awsome and the view from both sides of the bridge is amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The bay is ever-changing. On some days, the water is rough and choppy and wind blows unmercifully. On other days, the water is calm and sailboats, windsurfers, and seagulls abound.
The rocky shores by Fort Point are picturesque.
Any visit to San Francisco should include a hotel with a bay view.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting historical narrative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was very interesting to hear about the the history of the san Francisco area as we toured around the bay. It was also interesting to feel the change in the water as we neared the Golden Gate Bridge and the Pacific Ocean. The tour boat had language specific headsets in about 16 different languages so everyone could listen to the narrative. The bad part were those that didn't care about the narrative and talked so loud that it was hard to hear even with the headsets. We did learn by Angel Island which I had no prior knowledge about.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Bay also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.