We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Just Gotta Try This Sandwich Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ike's Place

Ike's Place
3489 16th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (The Castro)
(415) 553-6888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,548 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: The Castro
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You Just Gotta Try This Sandwich Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Insane assortment (although I recommend choosing online before you go there), Awesome from the bread to meat to Extras. Very reasonable price too. Forget the price - This Sandwich Can't Be Beat........Period! We got lucky But I think finding parking could be iffy in this part of town - well worth circling the block a few times though :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    64
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love sandwichs and this was an AWESOME sandwich. The bread, the toppings, the flavors. If you are in San Fran, you must stop here for a sandwich (plus they are huge!!). The staff is friendly and helpful. Take the sandwich and head over and eat it in Dolores Park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummiest sandwich ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

So we read the reviews and went to Ike's. thanks everyone who said "the name of the girl I'm dating", that's what I got and it was AMAZING! Nice chunks of avocado and the Dutch crunch bread was just like heaven. The price was steep for two sandwiches 2 drinks and chips, $31.00, but the portions were huge and it was well worth it. The only bummer is the lack of anyplace to sit down to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Big sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has a queue system in place but it moves fast. The menu is crazy. They only display part of it in the shop (full online) but even that is too much to choose from - amazing choice! Wish we had time that day to sit in Mission Dolores Park with our MASSIVE sandwiches. Cool place, great concept for a sandwich bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gourmet sandwich!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had heard about Ikes so had to try it. The place was packed with people which means the food must be good. We shared a sandwich as we couldn't eat one by ourself. We were only in San Francisco for four days but went back a second time and weren't disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike's Place also viewed

 

Been to Ike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ike's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.