We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pat's Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's Cafe

Pat's Cafe
2330 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1810 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
415-776-8735
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Chestnut St
Transit: Mason-Taylor Cable Car Bus Lines 30, 8,
Description: Charming neighborhood restaurant serving AWESOME American style cooking. We are located on Taylor Street, the Mason Taylor Cable Car rolls down Taylor Street where it turns around and goes back to Union Square. Check out our web site www.PatsCafe.Com, also check our reviews on Trip Advisor and Yelp - they like us. Every evening we have a dinner special.
Southern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pat's Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pat's Cafe was about a block away from the Columbus Inn and we ate breakfast there several times. We agreed that the best breakfast was the biscuits and gravy. Timing is everything as there may be a line at times. Make certain that you sign in when you enter the cafe or others may attempt to cut in front of you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    130
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We referred here by the hotel - we enjoyed breakfast so much we ate here twice while in San Fran. I had the veggie omelette the first time - very good & fresh. Second time I splurge and got the French toast - you know it is going to be good if they give you a steak knife to use! Sourdough bread was awesome too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good breakfast at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Can't miss the bright yellow building. Get there early, ~7:30 - 8:00 am. After about 8:30 am it gets pretty crowded and you do a lot of waiting for the food and check. The food is very good with excellent proportions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ciabatta French Toast and Polk St. omelette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stopped in at Pat's Cafe for breakfast on our last day in San Francisco. I love this spot. The decor and atmosphere is so warm and friendly. The front door is kind of narrow, you have to turn sideways to walk in. The restaurants is painted decoratively by Pat herself and framed photo prints of San Francisco cover the walls - and they're all for sale. We ordered the Polk St. Omelette and Ciabatta French Toast. Both were very good. I also had a side of biscuits with gravy which were obviously homemade. Pat was there walking around and she stopped to talk with us. She is a very friendly lady. The food was delicious and the service was great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Blueberry pancakes. DO IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is a gem. We ate ourselves silly this morning. Pancakes, real maple syrup, omelettes, bagels, granola...you name it, we had it! Prices are great. Service is fantastic (the waiter brought a basket of toys out for our 11 month old daughter without us even asking - winner!). The coffee is strong!!! We'll be back in the morning for more before we leave San Francisco!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pat's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.