We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location even better food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 23 Cafe

Pier 23 Cafe
On the Embarcadero, San Francisco, CA (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
415.362.5125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Nightlife, Dancing, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bar, featuring great music nightly, is always packed.
Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great location even better food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband had the seared tuna on sourdough and I had the crab cakes, both exceptional!
Had the privilege of watching the America's Cup while dining.
Busy spot with good prices for excellent food!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Had fish and chips, YUMMY!! My husband had fish tacos, oh so good! We would recommend this quaint eatery for anyone who loves seafood!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, great drinks, and a beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped into Pier 23 having just seen the place on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. After a short wait, we were seated on the back patio overlooking the water and Alcatraz Island. We started with the fried calamari having seen the table next to us eat theirs. It was crispy, seasoned well, and one of the best fried calamari dishes we have had. I order the crab and shrimp salad which was fresh, sweet, and creamy. My wife ate the fish and chips. The fish was flaky with a crispy crush and homemade tartar sauce. To wash it all down we each had a Bloody Mary which was spicy and peppery. I even called them after we returned home to get the recipe. Pier 23 is so much better than the touristy places you will find along the Wharf.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Nice beergarden at the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very lively and nice beergarden where you can sit direct at the waterfront. Can only recommend. Staff is very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Enjoyable spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I found this place on TripAdvisor - and it was great! First, it is located away from Pier 39 - which is overcrowded with tourists. We had a nice table outside overlooking the Bay and the service was very good. I had the chicken sandwich and my b/f had the fish and chips. Both were excellent! If you are looking for a lunch spot - go here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 23 Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pier 23 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 23 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.