We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Cars

Cable Cars
San Francisco, CA (Russian Hill)
415 673 6864
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$149*
and up
Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and...
Ranked #79 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Trams, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1873, cable cars have run up and down the hilly city, though after the 1950s, these cars have been kept in operation more out of historic nostalgia. Seventeen miles of track remain and have been deemed a historical landmark.
Vancouver British Columbia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A must for San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was real fun. Go back a century. Hear the bell ringing, the clanging, the wheel noise going around corners. Feel the steep slope and hold on. It was a delight to do this again. It is a marvel of engineering.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,521
    1,192
    381
    106
    91
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“A Fun Ride - Must Do !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you're too young to have ridden a trolley or cable car in your home town, then this is your chance to experience an old fashioned thrill. Make sure to get an outside area and maybe even "hang-off".

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must do at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a must do for everyone. It was a lot of fun. I would recommend picking it up near the wharf and riding it into downtown. Our wait was very minimal. Picking it up downtown, there was a line around the corner to get on. We rode from the wharf area and took a cab back to hotel.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“San Fran Cable Cars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

During my trip to San Francisco in November 2012, I decided to ride the cable cars, as I had heard so much about them. First, in order to avoid long lines, the weekdays are better than weekends. Second, if you want to stand on the "running boards" on the sides of the car, be prepared to pull in your butt on short notice, as the car passes VERY close to parked cars. Third, I don't know if I was there during a bad week or what, but the reason I gave them only 4 stars is because of the rudeness of a lot of the cable car employees. Some, but not all of them, had a definite attitude towards the paying riders, a lot of whom (like me) had never ridden a cable car before. The drivers and brakemen didn't tell the riders about where they could or could not stand, or about not standing too close to the rear brake area; they simply yelled at people. I think they could have told people about these things just before they started out, but they seemed to have a tight schedule, and some of them really didn't seem to care about the paying riders. I realize they probably hear the same questions about the City every day, but acting rude when a tourist asks them something is not appropriate. The cable cars are a big tourist draw, and you would think the city would teach them some people skills. Other than that, the scenery is fantastic and the hills are very steep; a camera is a must.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Indeed, my wife's favorite part of SF. I have no idea how that get through today's legal culture with having people just hang on for dear life when it's most crowded, but let's hope it stays that way. A great way to see the biggest hills and slopes of SF. Worth the hour and change wait to get on at Ghirardelli Square. If you're walking over the city for three days, get the three day MUNI pass, $21 for unlimited transportation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Cars also viewed

 

Been to Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Cars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.