We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Cars

Cable Cars
San Francisco, CA (Russian Hill)
415 673 6864
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$149*
and up
Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and...
Ranked #79 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Trams, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1873, cable cars have run up and down the hilly city, though after the 1950s, these cars have been kept in operation more out of historic nostalgia. Seventeen miles of track remain and have been deemed a historical landmark.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

At $6 per ride they can be expensive but buy a MUNI Passport at $21 for 3 days unlimited travel on all public transport in the City. Great value and pays for itself in no time. The conductor and brake men are really pleasant and helpful and will explain how the system works as you travel along.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,524
    1,192
    381
    106
    91
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“So Glad We Did This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It looks hokey and attracts truckloads of tourists...but hang off one of those bars while you're going up-and-down the hills is just the coolest things. We were fortunate to get onboard with almost no wait at Fisherman's Wharf but when we got to Union Square there must have been 500 people in line. So, instead of getting stuck, a local told us to take the 30 Stockton Bus back...and that was great -- and a wonderful look at local culture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my new favorite things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love riding cable cars...such a fun aspect of the San Fran trip. The wait can sometimes be a little long but a great experience nonetheless. Buying a day pass for $14 gives access to cable cars, trolleys and buses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not worth being on your bucket list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

cost was $6 per person, nothing special. we took the cable car down to Fisherman's Wharf...we took t cab back...been there done that, not worth doing again. no personality on at all. I would think the driver would at least make it fun for those on board. Dissapointing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, MD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What better way to see the city than by cable car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Using a 7-day pass we let public transportation take us all around S.F. including bus, streetcar and cable car. The highlight was the cable car rides. Yes it is a touristy thing to do, but hey we are tourists. Whether hanging on the outside or sitting on the bench we joined throngs of people from all over the world in viewing the city by the bay on and in a cable car. By the time we left S.F. we had covered all 3 of the lines. If you want the shortest lines than the California line fills the bill. The best were the trip on Powell/Hyde and Powell/Mason lines. It was worth the wait at the Powell Street turnaround.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Cars also viewed

 

Been to Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Cars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.