We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to walk across” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge
Lincoln Boulevard, near Doyle Drive and Fort Point, San Francisco, CA 94129
415-921-5858
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$149*
and up
Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and...
Ranked #1 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stretching 4,200 feet and towering as high as a 65-story building, this well-known bridge is the gateway to San Francisco.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun to walk across”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We walked across the bridge. Fun experience and good exercise. What incredible views of the city and bay!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,705
    3,141
    607
    51
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Golden Gate Bridge in 2011. I drove across it, walked across it and also biked across it. And all I got to say is, if you visit the bridge on a sunny day, with out fog and a cloudy sky, you will have such an experience. I just wanna go back there so bad! Far away from the bridge you can see the old penitentary Alctraz, which is so amazing looking at. It's absolutely a MUST if you're going to San Francisco. but don't forget to wear flowers in you hair!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Golden Gate is so famous and it's hard to lower the expectation once you see it. Nevertheless, if this is your first time, still worth a visit. I would recommend to visit during more conducive photographic moments like sunrise or sunset.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bike it and like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On our last day in San Fran we still hadn't been to the Golden Gate Bridge and were very disappointed when we found out how far it was to walk from where we were and it was already late afternoon. We happened to pass a bike rental place and rented ourselves a tandem bike and headed out. Along with our bike, we got helmets (optional), a map, and ferry tickets if we decided to continue onto Sausalito after we crossed the bridge. We had so much fun biking across that bridge that we decided to head down the winding hill to Sausalito. Being on the back of the tandem bike with no real control the winding steepness of the downhill was pretty scary for me but the little town was worth it. Being as late as it was the 8pm ferry back was a pretty chilly ride (for mid May) but the sunset was beautiful. It was definitely well worth the money to rent the bike and it absolutely made our trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“San Franciscan native”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I've grown up in San Francisco for the past 19 years and never have I walked across the bridge. I decided this was something I needed to do if I wanted to call myself a native and the experience was amazing. I went on a clear day and the sights were incredible. I recommend walking over biking but this is definitely a must do for all sf goers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.