We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge
Lincoln Boulevard, near Doyle Drive and Fort Point, San Francisco, CA 94129
415-921-5858
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$149*
and up
Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and...
Ranked #1 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stretching 4,200 feet and towering as high as a 65-story building, this well-known bridge is the gateway to San Francisco.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Iconic - we drove across and also took boat trip under. but if you have time walk or cycle! An amazing feat of engineering

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,701
    3,139
    607
    51
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For over forty years I have been traveling to San Franciso on business and pleasure. It wouldn't be right if I didn't at least see sthe bridge, much less go over it. This time, with my husband, and oldest son and his wife we went over to Muir Woods. What a beautiful, incredible place. Even in winter, the ferns, pines and rushing water captivate. It was raining, and a light mist traveled through the overgrowth. Air was pure and clean, visitors walked thru quietly, as if a church. My son runs and bikes it with friends, to the top of the mountain. That day we just strolled What a magical place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No fee, but only if you walk or bike it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lots of travelers end up driving, and might be surprised that it (and all major bridges in SF) have no fee outbound, but a fee to cross back into the city. The best view of the GGB is from the North side, on the headlands. Cross the bridge and turn right to the viewing point. You'll get Alcatraz, the bridge, and the city all at once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Walk across, you see more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We walked across the bridge having caught a bus to the start. We saw seals swimming and yachts and ferries criss crossing the bay. When we got to the other side we 'hitched' a lift on a tour bus to Sausilito and then took the ferry back to San Fran after a lovely lunch and some retail therapy. A truly memorable day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We took advantage of the great weather to walk across the bridge. It was really busy, but most people do not go beyond the first tower. Be sure to take a camera!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.