We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diego Rivera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Art Institute

San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)
415 749 4545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 722 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the oldest art school in the West, and the alma mater of some of the nation's most acclaimed artists.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Diego Rivera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A hidden treasure next to the very unhidden Fisherman's Wharf. This is the oldest art school in the western United States, and includes a large Diego Rivera mural. Well worth the detour!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was one of the stops on a van tour we took in S F. The guide didn't even make it clear what the place was but mumbled something. But it had beautiful Spanish(or Morrocan) architecture, tower, courtyard with fountain and a fantastic Diego Rivera full wall mural. Then we walked up steps to a rooftop observation area with a fantastic view of Telegraph Hill, downtown and the waterfront. We did a lot of pictures. The strange thing was, the place was completely deserted except for our small group. When I went to label my pictures in the photo album, I said S F something Art something. Upon reflection, I thought what a neat place it was and researched futher and found the name. We recommend it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
160 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Great Diego Rivera mural in art college”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stumbed across this while strolling in the Russian Hill area. It's a famous art college but is definitely worth a trip to see the Diego Rivera mural. The Chestnut Street building is in the Spanish Mission style and the Diego Rivera Gallery (which contains the aforesaid mural) is to the left of a beautiful fountained courtyard. The gallery also has free exhibitions of student art - a bit wacky the day we were there with an exhibition of sculpture using cacti and other plants.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Can't believe this place has only two reviews...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The San Francisco Art Institute should top any list of free, funky, and fun places to visit in the city, especially with children! We were a group of three adults and two children and felt really welcome. The Diego Rivera mural is outstanding and worth the trip. There was a small exhibit in the same room of surreal assemblages of toys and a phenomenal multimedia exhibit by Shahzia Sikander, both of which we all enjoyed. We were there on a weekday afternoon and it was deserted. *HIGHLY* recommended!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Took my daughter here for a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

we had a wonderful time. there is a cafe across the street that is killer if you love coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Art Institute also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Art Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Art Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.