We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bookshop for browsing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lights Booksellers

City Lights Booksellers
261 Columbus Avenue, North Beach, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)
415 362 8193
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 223 Shopping in San Francisco
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous bookstore founded and still owned by Beat Generation poet Lawrence Ferlinghetti.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great bookshop for browsing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On my recent trip to San Fransisco I visited this bookshop a number of times. It is a great bookshop to browse in with a brilliant selection of books and is a must for any book lover visiting the city.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Creek, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not your run of the mill bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I love City Lights and visit whenever I am in San Francisco. The books here are not the run of the mill romance/mystery found at most bookstores but a collection of intellectual fiction and non fiction and a good poetry collection. If you want a read that is not for the masses and will make you think, visit City Lights.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“For booklovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you like books of almost any kind except the absolute bestsellers this is a place were you can easily spend hours..

The choice in books seems limitless, the staff are super knowledgeable, you can sit down and test read and prices are as should be.

Every city in the world should have a place like this.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This is what a bookstore should look like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent place to spend time browsing the loads and loads of books. City Lights Bookstore is on the one hand a landmark with a solid place in the history of alternative culture and anti-authoritarian politics, and on the other hands a brilliant bookstore with its maze-like layout. Come for the landmark-part, stay for the ambience and don't forget to pick up a souvenir or two from their amazing range of titles

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent Bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Being a bookworm, I'm happy to visit a local bookstore to get a feel for the city I'm in. I'm so glad I made a point to get to City Lights! This is a large bookstore, and also a publisher. I walked in to browse and walked out with two books from one of the best curated shops I've ever been in! The displays are thoughtful and intriguing. Extensive selections on everything you can think of! There is no rush, so feel free to sit down to skim or read. There's also an upstairs and a downstairs, so don't miss those!

Also don't forget to have them stamp the title page of your book!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Lights Booksellers also viewed

 

Been to City Lights Booksellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lights Booksellers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.