We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Mecanique

Musee Mecanique
Pier 45, Fishermen's Wharf, foot of Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
415-346-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 374 attractions in San Francisco
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This superb collection of mechanical games and toys will entice people of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best of all just to get in the place there is no charge and the variety of arcade games, music players and old fashion flip movies are soooooo cool. It'll cost you to play but we spent less than $5.00 to entertain ourselves. Located on the pier by the famous Fisherman's Wharf, made the trip even more fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    185
    39
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh nc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We wandered into this by chance and oh my goodness my teenagers LOVED it. Just a great way to spend an hour, and cheap fun. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I had my doubts, but this place was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I visited this with several sisters during a family reunion and it was one of the highlights of our visit! The variety of mechanical toys and antique arcade games was captivating. We shot videos and took tons of pictures and thoroughly enjoyed it. Some of the games are quirky, some are creepy but all are genuinely fun. Allow at least a couple hours to try everything! Kids will love it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Free plus quarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent well over an hour here. My husband bested his Ms Pacman alltime record. My kids went fishing for gumballs. And I played a whole slew of player pianos. All in all, my kids and their cousins really enjoyed this choice. All kinds of antique automated machines, carnival games, etc. It's intriguing and not that expensive. I had been to the museum in the 90s when they were still at the Cliff House. And I don't remember it being this fun, but I didn't have 9 and 11 year old boys back then. This was a perfect thing to do, and not so costly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So glad we went!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stopped by during our one evening at FW based on reviews and were so glad we did! It is a quirky place with all types of old arcade and coin operated entertainments. Some were so old I had never even heard of them. We played quite a number of them and thoroughly enjoyed seeing what each did. The toothpick built machines were interesting. My teen found the old "execution" figure machines fascinating and had to do every one. I had to play the ones I remembered (even though seeing them in a 'museum' made me feel OLD).

The place is a little run-down looking on the outside, but don't let that stop you. Anything that amuses 2 adults and 2 teenagers is worth a stop!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Mecanique also viewed

 

Been to Musee Mecanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Mecanique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Musee Mecanique to your Saves list