We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Ladies

Painted Ladies
Alamo Square, Steiner and Hayes Sts., San Francisco, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$25*
and up
San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #100 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous stretch of colorful Victorian-style house.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Popular Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just what I expected. The park was actually more interesting, watching the prom kids play crochet in heels and gowns with 20 mph winds. This is a great place for locals to bring their dogs and an even better place for picnics. Street parking can be a little challenging, so I would suggest the local transit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    149
    97
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Va
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just like on TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This stop was high on our list of things the see. Dont need to plan on a long time, just pass by, stop on the side street, walk into the park and take your pictures. This history on the area, and buildings and park are interesting. Also got a geocache in. Too many pictures and enjoyed the nice day and views. Worth a stop on your San Fran trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Painted ladies need cosmetic surgery.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

these houses look so much nicer in the post cards and movies. The homes are not colorful and pretty. It looked boring and run down.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting building and good city view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

5 interesting buildings next to each other on the hill, pretty interesting but nothing too special! A park opposite to it where the locals hang out, good vibe! Worth checking out!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
776 attraction reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
“Why all the hype?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Drove past them on our trip to SF just because they were there. I suppose if you are into movies and TV shows they mean more. The area surrounding these "ladies" can be quite a different ambiance so pay attention to where you are going. I used the GPS and had no problem. The Alamo Park looks more inviting than just going to look at these structures. I would not make a special trip to see a few homes that were flashed on a TV show or movie. I must say SF has a great PR program that draws people to certain areas of the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Ladies also viewed

 

Been to Painted Ladies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Ladies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.