We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a look.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Jeremiah O'Brien

SS Jeremiah O'Brien
Pier 45, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94133 (The Embarcadero)
(415) 544-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$58*
and up
Ranked #31 of 318 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Historic Sites, Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic World War II ship docked at Pier 45.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a look.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I went to this because may friend wanted to rather an a burning desire. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a good chat with the old man selling tickets about the history of the ship and liberty ships in general (something I don't ever remember learning about at school in the UK). It is great to be able to wander around at will including down and around the engine. Great views over the bay to Alcatraz and the bridges. A good way to spend and hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a peek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you have any interest in the history of WW2 or military ships, this is worth the visit. We walked freely around this ship for about an hour or two. We didn't have a docent, though there were employees cleaning the ship that I'm sure would answer any questions we had.
They have a large display by the gift shop offering some history into these large Liberty ships. It was interesting to look down into the cargo area and realize just how expansive these ships are.
Great views of the bay and city too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“WWII Carrier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you love history you will love this ship! It was used in WWII on D-Day and has since sailed back on the 50th anniversary. It is a self-guided tour that is easy to follow. For pop culture people, the engine room was used to film Titanic. The ship also still sails and you can opt for that experience if you choose!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“BUILT & SAILED BY REAL HEROES....IN ANOTHER TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having been to the Normandy beaches in Northern France for the D-Day anniversaries the 63rd & 65Th to be exact, touring the full 150 mile coastline taking in the many battle sites, bunkers, defences, cemeteries not to mention the bloody Omaha beach itself. It came as a surprise to find that one of the last iconic supply ships the SS Jerimiah O' Brien sitting at the pier 45 in San Francisco alongside a WWII Submarine the USS Pampanito, what more could you ask for here with me being a history buff? This ship actually sailed from the states to supply the troops taking part in D-Day, and was even at Omaha beach as well as the Pacific theatre which needs no description.
On arriving here you will buy your tickets at the little booth for $12 each around £8 which isn't much these days, there is quite a long steep gangway which takes you up and into the ship, and armed with a handy little map which is supplied for you. Then getting around here is so easy and the first thing that strikes you is how the hell they constructed this in under two months is astonishing and says a lot about the women builders of that generation. Moving on and you realise just how compact this ship was when you see the crew living quarters and so on, this being a working ship don't be surprised if you bump into a friendly crew volunteer or two, who are only too pleased to answer any questions you might have, one of the highlights for me though was descending into the labyrinth of the engine room and for this you have to be quite fit, as this can also be a bit claustrophobic for some people so be warned folks, descending down the many ladders and catwalks makes you wonder just how any engineer can find anything let alone fix it. The sound of steam hissing and generators buzzing gives you a sense of what it might sound like too minus the main engines of course, and here you will find this is where some of the engine scenes from the James Cameron movie "Titanic" were filmed and there is even a plaque and some pictures hanging up to prove it.! ( No sign of Jack or Rose though) Climbing back up through the engine room you will probably meet other tourists coming down and this where you have to be careful here, there is no room for error it's a long way down folks.! Up on deck you can visit the many AA guns still pointing skywards, as well as looking down the holds and so on, if you have small kids i would recommend you keep an eye on them at all times here, no running about either as this is a working ship. Would i recommend this iconic ship? Absolutely, and it felt special to me and the chance of a lifetime as i had walked in the footsteps of these brave men on Omaha beach and here i was on a ship that had also been there too 5000 miles away, not only that but my wife's late Father who was at D-day would have been supplied with a ship like this and makes you wonder about that generation, I could just imagine handing a rivet gun to my daughter and saying " Build me a ship please" you can imagine the answer here..! So go on folks and pay your respects, walk on history and honour the brave men & women who have went before..!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really neat trip with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very cool self-guided tour of an old Liberty Ship. Lots of information about the ships, missions, uses, restoration, contributions. Got to walk all over the ship, kids got to sit in gun turrets, and good exposure to what life on the ship might have been like. Only odd thing was the "volunteers" who work on the ship, also live on the ship. So as you walk through the quarters area, you stumble upon someones room and then in the kitchen they are cooking their meals, bathrooms with toothbrushes and shampoo. All really odd and slightly uncomfortable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SS Jeremiah O'Brien also viewed

 

Been to SS Jeremiah O'Brien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Jeremiah O'Brien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.