We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Embarcadero

The Embarcadero
Embarcadero Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94111 (The Embarcadero)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$112*
and up
San Francisco Dinner Dance Cruise
Ranked #57 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Neighborhoods, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Major street in the port area of San Francisco that has become a bustling area of shops, businesses and sightseeing attractions.
Dallas
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
201 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We walked around the Embarcadero before & after meeting our "Real SF Tour Group". The cable cars stop/start down here so it makes it easy to get to & from.

We had dinner in the Ferry Building which had a lot of restaurants to chose from. And the outside of the building itself is very cool so it's fun to walk around & take some pictures.

If you stick around after the sun goes down you have a great view of the Bay Bridge all lit up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    73
    27
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every trip to San Francisco, the embarcadero and the ajoining waterfront promenade are musts. Can't wait to see the pier at Branan Street complete. Perfect place to walk, sit and people watch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Embercadero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I loved the flat walk as it was not too challenging for the special needs pupils I had with me on the trip. They loved all the attractions, shops and restaurants which we passed on many occasions. They loved tasting the sourdough bread and bought many keepsakes to take home with them. This area and Fishermans Wharf was lovely and anyone visiting the city must not miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“rent a bike to really get to know it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

its a place you have to visit if you´re in SFC. since it has so much to see and everything is a bit far, i think a great option would be to rent a bike, ride it and lock it wherever you want stop

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Place Day Or Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great visit during the day. Pay the fee and ride the elevator to the top. Come back at night and you can see great views of the bay and city lights. (Also a few people necking).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Embarcadero also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Embarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Embarcadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.