We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'ardoise Bistro

L'ardoise Bistro
151 Noe St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1245
415-437-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'ardoise Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Henry
Transit: Church Street Castro Duboce Park/Duboce and Noe Duboce and Church
Melbourne
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love this place any time of the year. The atmosphere, the attentive staff and OF COURSE the food. Who doesn't like chips cooked in duck fat? This restaurant is a little gem and actually my favourite place to diner in SF because you don't get annoying tourists. They have a simple yet authentic menu and staff who are just amazing. You must book! If I know I am coming to SF I get on line and book weeks in advance to ensure my spot. Cannot recommend enough !!! Love you L'ardoise

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We found this gem of a restaurant on a past trip to San Francisco. Set on a quiet, tree lined street, steps from transit and the Castro district; L'Ardoise has flair, class, wonderful food and outstanding service. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Quick Trip To Paris when in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small bistro near the Castro neighborhood is by far the closest one will get outside of France.
From the tidy warm ambiance to the excellent bistro fare topped off by real French accents. The service is on a par with a five star restaurant.
If you are visiting SF and would like a little detour to Paris, this is the place.
If you can't score a table here, try their sister restaurant, Le Charm, in the South of Market area. Different menu, equally as good bistro fare, a gorgeous protected patio and roomier indoors than L' Ardoise.
Two gems for two totally different parts of town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“first time visitor from Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We organized a family dinner at L'ardoise based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We were delighted with the overall ambiance, small and comfortable feel of a neighbor hood restaurant, the service and the food. Our menu selections varied from the evening special, cassoulet, to seafood and beef, all tastingly prepared and served at a leisurely pace. A reasonably priced and varied wine list offered the white and red fans sufficent choices.

Overall a very pleasant dining experience in comfortable but small surroundings. We plan to return on our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The most amazing French restuarant I've eaten at, hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

L'ardoise was an absolutely amazing experience, we ate there twice in 2 weeks. Make sure you get a Floating Island for desert. The Scallops were some of the best I've ever had, and the duck was amazing. My heirloom tomato salad was the best salad I've had my entire life. The service was awesome, but make sure you make reservations! This is a small neighborhood restaurant, and once they're full, you may not be able to get in until after 9:30. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'ardoise Bistro also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to L'ardoise Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'ardoise Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.