We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stacks'

Stacks'
501 Hayes St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4213
415-241-9011
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Creperie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Northern California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We don't eat out much for breakfast, so when our son invited us to Stacks', we were ready to go! Stacks' had a 30 minute wait and it was well worth it. It was very crowded, and the menu was extensive and excellant, especially the lox/bagel/caper combos and the latte's. We were in a hurry and the staff was very respectful of that, speeding things up despite extreme business.


We will return. It was one of our best breakfasts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    26
    26
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, but jeeze, layoff the up-selling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great and plentiful food (I had a delicious biscuits and gravy (which i was craving after seeing it on Food network recently) it came with a big bowl of the biscuits and gravy which were both very well done, a small ramekin of fruit salad, and very well done home fries. No quibbles about the food. The space is OK, the abundant use of rust paint and the huge fake floral arrangements give it a slightly fussy and stale air that i didn't love, and made it feel even more crowded than it is.

It's a bit of a wait on the weekend for brunch, but where isn't?

The staff was nice enough all around, but our waiter was determined to up-sell every item ordered ("Would you like some avocado, jalapenos on that?") He finally convinced us to order a single (huge) pancake to share, which was more food that we needed.

Seriously, ease up on the up-sell!!

But the food was delicious, i can overlook a lot for well done food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious crepe but undrinkable bloody mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This restaurant offers a great variety of breakfast fare, including a dizzying variety of crepes. I ordered the crab crepe and it had a fairly generous amount of crab. My companion ordered eggs florentine, which he said were very good. They don't know how to make Bloody Mary's there, however. The first one I ordered was so full of black pepper (even the glass rim was coated with black pepper) that it was undrinkable. The ice cubes were covered with black pepper. So I complained and the waiter indicated that he had put black pepper in the drink and all over the ice cubes (not to mention the rim - sort of a take off on a salted rim on a margarita, I guess). He eventually (but graciously) brought be another one. This, too, had a black peppered rimmed glass, was still loaded with pepper, and was undrinkable. By the way, I know Bloody Marys can be spicy due to tabasco sauce but this was beyond spicy. It was like drinking liquified black pepper. To his credit, the waiter removed the drink from our bill (since I drank neither of them). Other than the Bloody Mary fiasco, the food itself was good. Great decor, by the way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasty and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are many options in the city for brunch and most, on the weekends, will have a line out front with an hour wait. Stacks is one restaurant where the wait is worth it because the food is some of the best I've had in the city.
Located in the upscale Hayes Valley neighborhood, the menu has a bit of everything to offer, including original recipe pancakes (Banana, Coconut and Macadamia nut style...delicious) as well as scrambles of every kind, and a full menu of Crepe options.
I enjoyed the Crab Crepe with avocado, jack cheese and onion. It was fabulous. The breakfast potatoes are also fresh and flavorful
We did not have to wait longer than five minutes for a table on a busy Sunday morning. The place is very popular and now I see why. Even the coffee was amazing, rich and full-bodied.
And the price? $40.00 for two. Can't beat that. A winner for your dining needs. We will be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate at Stacks for breakfast on Saturday and it was such a great place that we went back on Sunday! The food and service were top notch. The fruit crepes were awesome! Very busy place so get there early to avoid the wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stacks' also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Stacks'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stacks', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.