We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun tour! And free tastings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Brewing Company

Anchor Brewing Company
1705 Mariposa Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
415-863-8350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Breweries, Factory Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Public tours of the Anchor Brewery are available each weekday, free of charge, by reservation only. The walking tour of the brewery lasts about 40-45 minutes. Your tour guide will give you a brief history of Anchor Brewing and walk you through three floors of our facility. Children are welcome to come on the tour, but of course may not taste the beer during our tasting session that follows the walking tour. You may have up to ten in your party, depending on the availability of space. Altogether, the tour and the tasting last for about 2 hours, and tastings are only available to those who take the tour.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun tour! And free tastings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Call ahead for reservations (up to 6 months in advance), but we called the week ahead and were able to be worked in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice tour and it's Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Need to call to make reservations a few months in advance of your trip. The tour of the brewery was very interesting and the guide was very knowledgable. Many antiques in the tasting room and in the touring areas. Of course free tasting after the tour! Nice and reasonably priced souvenirs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour - better beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting the Anchor Brewing Company in the summer of 2013. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny.. And he wasn't cheap with the beer :)

Highly recommendable if you are into great beer! As of 2013, you have to book via phone, but it was no problem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not my style of Beer, but tour was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Tour was fantastic. There's a lot of history surrounding this brewery, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and willing to answer questions. There's a tasting at the end of the tour. My wife and I were under the impression that we would taste all the beers on tap, but it was actually 4 of them and then one of your choosing. Lots of interesting swag you can buy there (octagon shaped pint glasses, copper anchor keychains, etc). Steam beer isn't my favorite style, so I didn't enjoy the tasting as much as I did at other breweries, but everyone has different tastes so I didn't knock off any points for that.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friends strongly recommend to book the tour, and decided to give it a go, and booked it for one of our days in town.

Our tour guide Bobby was brilliant! So knowledgeable, entertaining and just great guy! Really enjoyed seeing the brewery, loved the bottling floor!

Oh and the best part! Well, the tasting was really good! Proper full tasting of possibly all their possible products! Such a great tour and cannot believe it was free!!!

I would fully recommend any beer lover to do this tour! Good fun, but don't drive there!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.