We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning part of US history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adams National Historical Park

Adams National Historical Park
135 Adams Street, Quincy, MA 02169-1749
(617) 773-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site explores the lives of two early American presidents, John and John Quincy Adams.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Learning part of US history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was taken pass the Quincy area in Boston and down Adam house learning some of the history of US by friends. It was beginning to snow and was informed that the John Adams house is closed now but when opened, I can get ticket for the tour at the Quincy College nearby then tour the small house with small rooms full of many nice things with history. I will come again and see inside for myself

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    43
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Travel back in time to Americas early times in Presidential history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A great learning experience for the whole family for very little money. The trolley/ bus ride by itself is worth the price of admission. A year ound attraction that can be enjoed all four seasons here in greater Boston/ New England.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great part of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We walked around the grounds and enjoyed it. The facilities are closed from Nov 11 to April, which is the only disappointment.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been 3 times and learned something new about one of The Adams each time. The house and separate stone library are both a must see. It is a popular spot so plan your trip for a weekday if possible.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“John Adams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Mother-in-law is a history buff and a fan of the "John Adams" HBO mini series, so the Adams NHP was definitely on our itinerary for our Boston trip.

Of the NHP locations we visited in greater Boston, this one was the best maintained in my opinion. The tours of the houses were informative. The ranger at Peacefield did an especially good job. We all also really enjoyed the video at the visitors' center and the convenience of the trolley.

The only thing we didn't enjoy were the two rangers manning the visitors' center. One of them had a very abrasive manner and both of them clearly confused several of the other visitors who were trying to figure out how to get on a tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Adams National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.