We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see when visiting Boston!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adams National Historical Park

Adams National Historical Park
135 Adams Street, Quincy, MA 02169-1749
(617) 773-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Quincy
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site explores the lives of two early American presidents, John and John Quincy Adams.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Boston!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everyone knows the "Freedom Trail" in Boston and "Plymoth Plantation" in Plymouth, but visitors drive RIGHT BY this AWESOME National Historical Park!!!! It is truly well worth the stop. There are 3 homes to see and the Adams' Presidential Library. You learn SO MUCH from the guides about the Adams Family!!! And the story of our Founding Fathers!!!! Go see this Historical Site even if you have lived in Boston all your life, just moved to the area or a just visiting. It is a MUST SEE.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    41
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone who loves American history!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Truly worth a visit here!!! You see 3 houses of the Adam's family. The Peacefield house is a true gem!!! The house has it's original wallpaper, paint, furniture, paintings, etc. You are only allowed to touch the hand railings on the stairs in the house, which I made sure I did, because I know that history touched those railings!!!! This is a must see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster Co., VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adams Park, Quincy, Mass-a national treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the three Adams family houses to be true gems. The two earlier houses are all furnished with a mixture of period pieces and some Adams family originals. The third house--home of John Quincy Adams--is totally Adams pieces, down to the tiniest detail. Tour guides were knowledgable and helpful. One of the best historic house tours we've ever been on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Quincy to visit John and Abigail Adams homes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Took the short trip to Quincy to visit the Adams homes. 2 hour tour of 3 homes. John's birthplace and first home with Abigail (right next to each other). Then to Peacefield where the ADams family continued to live through 4 generations. Lovely furniture from John and Abigails time to Charles Frances Adams. The tour guides are wonderful

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After reading the McCullough book on Adams, I've really wanted to see his houses and visit his grave. During our recent trip to Boston, I got that chance. Our first stop was the Visitor Center where we bought our tickets to see the houses and then watched a short film before our tour started. The film was pretty good and details the lives of John, his son, grandson and great grandson, which was new. Once the film finished, we went outside and caught our trolley to visit the houses. I initially thought that we were just going to visit Peacefield, but was delighted that we visited both the Adams birthplace and the home where he lived during the Revolution. From there, we did travel on to the bigger house and had a wonderful tour. The house is gorgeous and the gardens are really charming. Getting to visit these houses was one of the highlights of my entire trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Adams National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.