We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After the refurbishment even better then before ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Quincy

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Quincy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Quincy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Marriott Drive, Quincy, MA 02169   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Quincy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cologne - Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After the refurbishment even better then before ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed in the Marriott Quincy very often over the past years and over time it was a bit worn down! However since they refurbished some (don't know for the whole hotel) of the floors it's really back into very good shape!

For business to south of Boston a perfect fit with access to I-93 South.

Besides, Quincy has very nice marina which - specially in Spring / Summer - offers a great view into Boston / the Boston skyline! Very scenic!

I'd recommend to ask for rooms with number x42 / x43 / x44 on any level. They offer the best view onto the Boston bay ... you'll see great sunrises from here if you are up that early that is of course! ;-) (see attached picture taken this year in April)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    190
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
115
98
35
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The front desk staff is to be commended. The crew is great with names and faces and make you feel important. Jeffery and Kaylin are the faces every business should have out front. The crew in Kilroy's are the same. If you're looking to feel at home away from home while on business, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't rent a car. Take the train, shuttle or cab if you're from out of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The pros:
-The entire hotel and rooms are extremely clean. A+
-Rooms and hotel are updated
-Staff is very nice and professional
-In-room cable TV has plenty of channels, including HBO
-Restaurant and lounge have a diverse menu. Food is very good.

The cons:
-Pay for parking? $12/night or $9/night because I was with a convention
-Pay for internet? $12.95 in-room for the luxury of internet access (are we in 1990?)
-Pay to use business center terminals? Yup, swipe card for .50 fee.

First, this hotel is not in Boston, it's in Quincy. This hotel isn't close to anything; you will not be walking anywhere. The only way to get here is by car, whether it be your own or by livery.

To their credit, the $12 parking fee is on their website (found it after I was told at the front desk), but when I made my phone reservations I was not told. They were even so kind as to connect me directly to Hertz when I made my reservation.

In speaking with somebody who stayed there last year, the pay-for-parking foray is new this year.

Keep in mind, there is nowhere else to go if you park here. You are not going to park here and walk miles to get someplace else. They're not having a problem with squatters. This is simply a 10% room surcharge.

To add injury to insult, Marriot has an addiitonal 200+ space parking lot at the bottom of the hill (it's a BIG hill) that sits empty.

There was no in-room wifi (at least in my room, there were absolutely no signals), so you either have to go down to the lobby to check your email or pay the $12.95 internet access fee.

The entry doors for the units are not equipped with door closers, but instead have been outfitted with spring-loaded hinges. The result is that unless you are careful, the doors just slam closed. And not that solid "thud" type slam. That annoying tin can "we were too cheap to install a decent door buck" slam. It's especially invigourating when housekeeping opens the door, closes the night latch so the door won't latch closed, and continually slams the door into the night latch as they clean.

Housekeeping wanted to service my room after 5pm on a Sunday?

Linens were excellent. Bed had six pillows-- six of the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever used. I am not a picky guy. I slept on the floor next to my ill 3yo son last week with no issues. But these pillows. I can't explain it.

From what I heard, the event coordinator back-burnered our smaller convention (booked 1.5 years in advance) in favor of a larger one, causing some scheduling difficulties with event room assignments. I wasn't directly involved with any of the event planning, but I got the distinct impression there were a lot of issues. They even had our events starting at 9pm and going to midnight, rather than 9am-noon the next day.

$2 for soda from vending machines (had to go to 3 floors to get one that accepted bills). Same soda is $2.50 at front desk. 12oz juice and granola bar is $6 at front desk. Burger or chicken sandwich is $13. Hotdogs are $8. Beer is $6/bottle. Jack on the rocks $10.50.

Bottom line.. rooms are clean, food is good, beware if considering scheduling your event here, and last but not least: Marriot has adobted the Nickel-and-Dime-You-to-Death business plan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night while going to a convention at BCEC. The rooms were beautifully done, very clean hotel. The only drawback is that its a bit too far to walk to Quincy Adams T, but you can park at the T-stop for only $7 a day. Free coffee in the room, and the staff was helpful and very friendly. If you do take a cab from downtown Boston, its about $35. You can also park at the hotel for $12/day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - spacious rooms, clean, comfy beds, friendly staff, nice bar and Starbucks coffee but... be prepared to pay for things like parking $12 per night and Internet. The only way you get internet for free is if you are a Gold Elite member. We booked through an agency for a tournament so the hotel would not comp anyone on the parking which was a shame since we did not know about it. Also one of our players went and got the breakfast buffet but only ate cereal and a banana and it was $30. Stick with Starbucks in the bar area. We had a nice muffin and flaky croissant there. I could see the parking charge if we were in Boston but this hotel is in Quincy where parking should be free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had an excellent one night's stay at the Quincy Marriott. It is a new-ish well appointed hotel. The room was large, quiet, and very comfortable and the staff were all welcoming and friendly. The reason for not giving this hotel a rating of "5" is the $12 charge for the parking. This is not a downtown Boston hotel. It is in Quincy right off the highwy - parking should be free!
But overall, the Quincy Marriott is a great choice, especially on the weekend when the rates are lower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Once again I had the pleasure of hosting a 2 day business meeting at the Boston Marriott Quincy. This hotel will never cease to amaze me, great staff, great service, great meeting rooms. Thanks again Marriott for a successful meeting

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston Marriott Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Quincy

Address: 1000 Marriott Drive, Quincy, MA 02169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Quincy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Quincy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Quincy, MA, this hotel offers access to Boston, Plymouth and Cape Cod. Features 464 hotel rooms, a pool and health club, and on-site restaurants including Kilroy's Irish Pub and Hancock's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Boston Marriott Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Quincy Hotel Quincy
Marriott Quincy
Quincy Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.