We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lived up to the promises on the web site!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely lived up to the promises on the web site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We found the Bar Harbor Hotel-Blue Nose Inn on the web.
After reviewing the descriptions of hotels in the area and reading numerous reviews, we decided to stay in this hotel.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a very polite gentleman and were immediately escorted to check - in.
From that moment on, we were remembered by all of the staff and to our surprise, our accomodations were better than promised!
Our room was lovely and the appointments were so much better than the competing hotels. We even walked to the other hotels to make a comparison. It was very clear that this is the most elegant and beautiful hotel in this area. Our room even had a door bell. The staff met our every need and were polished and professional. The view of Frenchman's Bay was lovely and evenings in the lobby were delightful. Why go anywhere else to eat? Our dinners were 5 star and the service was impeccible. The Blue Nose Inn will not disappoint you!
A Tucson traveler.

  • Liked — Very, very clean and up to date!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
304
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Hotel for 3 days in July 2007. This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and we were generally very satisfied with our lodging at the Hotel. We stayed in the less expensive part of the hotel- Stenna, on the second floor and the view of the bay was spectacular. The place was a bit pricey but you generally pay for what you get- the room was very large and clean with a wonderful king size bed. Our only complaint was that the Stenna is certainly not sound proof and hence, next time we will try to get a room on the 3 rd floor. The service at the hotel was outstanding and the overall facility was very good- indoor pool/outdoor pool, etc. As well, the hotel is well located about a mile from Bar Harbor on one side and the park a mile or two away on the other side. There was ample free parking at the hotel and the staff was very good about helping us with any question we had about the area.
We would not hesitate to stay in the Stenna section of the hotel again.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We recently spent 3 nights at the Bar Harbor Hotel, and loved it. The rooms are immaculate and beautiful (we stayed in a Stena king on the 2nd floor) and the service was good too. As soon as we checked in the desk clerk spent 10 minutes with us going over maps of the area in detail, giving us information and offering the help with advice in any way. The rooms in Stena are large and comfortable - the terry cloth robes and beautiful view from the deck outside our room was a great extra. The only small complaint we had was having to walk to the property next door for breakfast; but because there is a fridge in each room, we ended up buying cereal & milk and having breakfast there in the room with the coffee the hotel supplied. The pools, indoor and out, and hot tub were also immacutely kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Definitely an upper-tier 4 star hotel. Rooms were very well decorated with nice amenities. They have a masseuse on the property daily and the piano bar was lots of fun and the pianist is excellent. Staff was very friendly; we had good babysitters and the doormen are really friendly and do look after you. We took the 2 bedroom apartment on the lower level; you give up the view that you get from upper floors which is beautiful but you have a great apartment with a huge wraparound terrace and the kitchen is stocked to the hilt (the previous owners used it as their summer residence). Prices were very good value considering other properties closer to town; this one is just a 20 minute walk to the center of town and we did the walk daily. The nearby Wonderview restaurant is certainly adequate and the Rose Garden restaurant featured one of the best dinners we had on our 2 week vacation -- totally first rate particularly considering that a good number of restaurants in the center of town were not that great. A superb restaurant we did enjoy in town was Eden, a vegeterian choice, with excellent anything we had. We would definitely recommend this place for people with kids and hope that they will build more family type accommodations in this hotel. Another hotel closer to town with family-type suites and pretty views right on the waterfront is the Harborside Hotel but the rooms there are twice the price, so I think the Bluenose is the best bang for your buck. Be sure that when approaching this hotel in your car you find out where the hotel is; there is poor signage from the road and you can easily miss it since it is up a hill off the road. The hotel manager reports that because the hotel doesn't own the land abutting the road the hotel is prohibited by law from improving its signage but they are trying to appeal the zoning ruling.

  • Liked — Good value and good family accommodations available
  • Disliked — 20 Minute walk away from town or a one mile drive
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

I stayed at the Bar Harbor/Blue Nose Inn ................ very clean,
scenic property. My room was immaculate ......... scenery from the balcony (i was on the second floor) was beautiful. The pool was awesome, again very clean. I would definetly stay here again. A must see in this town is, of course, Acadia National Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

There are few places that we've loved staying at more than this one. Staff was geat, the pianist in the lounge was terrific, and the accomodations were first class. We've been there twice now, and look forward to coming back. Rooms are large, great views above the second floor front, and the fireplaces add much to their ambiance.

  • Liked — Great rooms with balacnies and fireplaces
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely nights stay at the Bluenose Inn on what was the last night of their 2006 season.
The staff was friendly and helpful when needed but not underfoot .Our room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. It was spacious and had a magnificient view of the bay. Inspite of it being their last night, the hotel itself was very clean and well organized. Absolutely nothing "looked" closed-up.
What a wonderful time we had! You will not make a mistake in booking yourself a room for 2007! I know we will stay again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and late season for more room choices.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.