We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluenose Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Upper Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bluenose Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week. The Balconies are large with a great view and are attached to a
sitting room with fireplace and a second TV. They have refrigerators and Keurig Coffee pots in the rooms and Bose Music players & Free Wi-Fi. (This place is top notch!) Very Clean Hotel and rooms with a very friendly staff. We also used the meeting rooms and the staff was very attentive. The restaurant is located up a hill, but they have staff with a golf cart to transport you if you wish a lift. The bar area was beautiful with daily specials... They also have coffee and cookies in Lobby area...I would and will stay at this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. You were staying in one of the 10 suites in our Mezzentop building that features a separate sitting room with a fireplace and private balcony. We have many price points and room types available and yours is a great testimony to how important it is to ask and get for all of the amenities you want during your stay.

I am very happy to hear that the little touches such as cookies, our golf cart transportation to the restaurant and our amenities in the room such as the Keurig and Bose player were noticed and appreciated. These details are very important to us.

Thank you again,
Jim Ash
General Manager/ Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
302
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This Inn is not in the heart of Bar Harbor which is a good thing. It's a little out of town but a very short drive to the town. We had no trouble parking or driving anywhere and it was prime summer time. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There's a great restaurant a short walk up a hill with a fabulous view. You are close to the park visitor center. The rooms are decorated in pink with Mary Cassat prints on the walls. Twinkly chandeliers. Very sweet. Clean, comfortable. We had the pool to ourselves and it is a fabulous pool with a hot tub at one end and a spa at the other. There is a highway out front but you are up on a hill. You'll hear the noise if you sit on the balcony-and since the views from the rooms are spectacular, you will. But it's very quiet as soon as you close the door.

Room Tip: ask for a high room in the Mizzentop. Suites are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your very nice review of the Bluenose. I am happy that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant (The Looking Glass), the pool, and our wonderful location. You have written a great description of our rooms. I hope you will think of us again if you return to Bar Harbor and look forward to meeting you personally when you do.

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Mass.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned from a stay in bar harbor. I loved this hotel...Gorgeous, clean, spectacular views from our room. Cannot wait to return to this lovely place, both the hotel and the island! Wonderful room on the third floor of the mezza"something" building. Loved it all!

Room Tip: It's worth it, if you can, to pay a little more to have a room with a balcony, right off the Atl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to your return visit and sincerely hope that we have an opportunity to meet in person if we have not done so already. I host weekly Manager Receptions to meet our guests and welcome you to attend.

Thank you,

Jim Ash
GM/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bluenose Inn. The location is not right in the "downtown" area of Bar Harbor, but it is a very short drive (less than 5 minutes). The rooms are very clean with great quality linens and toiletries and comfortable beds. Having the fridge and Keurig in the room was great. We used both the indoor and outdoor pools and were impressed with both, as well as the fitness room, steam room and hot tub. We stayed in the Stenna Nordica building and had no issues with the room. The view from our room was absoutely wonderful. We ended up staying an extra night and the staff were very helpful in extending our reservation during a very busy time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We also ate at the on-site restaurant. While the food was good and the view was fabulous, the service was a bit slow and it was a bit pricey. The coffee, hot chocolate and sometimes cookies in the lobby were a great bonus as well.

Room Tip: If you are in the Stenna Nordica building, choose a higher level floor if possible. This building do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would join us again if you are able to return to Bar Harbor.

We enjoy the fact that we are a little bit away from the downtown area, yet we are within walking distance and offer a shuttle service, in season, from our sister property the Wonder View which is next door.

I hope you were able to spend an evening in the Great Room listening to piano, with Bill Trowell while you were here. If not, then you definitely must come back!

I appreciate hearing that you enjoyed the small touches such as the refridgerator, Keurig and cookies.

Happy travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Bluenose Inn was rather old but 'well kept up'. It's main restaurant food didn't live up to what I expected nor did it's description as a 'glass-walled structure offering a beautiful view' (my expectations based on it's description of the write-up of it on the web-page of the Bluenose Inn). I also wished the single bathroom in our room was better ventilated. I was told on the phone when I reserved our stay at the Bluenose Inn that the 3rd floor rooms would have newly installed mattresses but, if they were indeed brand new, my back ached as if that we're not the case. But, despite all these complaints, I hope to never forget the breath-taking, beautiful view from our balcony and I really enjoyed eating outside for breakfast at the Bluenose Inn's restaurant. The first night we also enjoyed the piano music in the great room too. The staff at the Inn were always gracious and helpful as you could ever hope for.

Room Tip: We stayed at the building called the Nordica. It was a little outdated but well kept up. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds as though you had a very successful trip and a good stay with us. Now that you are familiar with our property you will know exactly what to ask for, and we would love to have you back.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in some of your experience at the Looking Glass, it sounds as though you found your way to the deck for breakfast though and it enjoyed it. I appreciate your time with us and the time you took here to tell us about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The property is very clean and well-maintained. The rooms are HUGE and very comfortable. We didn't really use any of the amenities (well... you don't go to Bar Harbor for indoor pool or hotel drink bar, right?) so there is not much I can write about it.This is a very pleasant, comfortable and rather high-end place to stay. However, it's pricey so if you don't want to use the spa or the pool you may want to find something less fancy.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 buildings. Both have windows on the ocean side but one is closer to the cliff (Mizze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn't spend much time enjoying the amenities on the property and hope that you will come again and do so next time. We have one of the best restaurants in Bar Harbor, The Looking Glass and every night of the week offer piano in the Great Room Lounge which is considered by many to be some of the finest live music available to the public in Bar Harbor.

Well, you will just have to stay with us again!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Pros: The staff: everyone was so nice and accomodating. We arrived to learn that we had booked in the building facing the parking lot and not the ocean. Though ocean was visible it had an akward communal balcony so it would be hard to enjoy the view without loosing privacy. I asked the front desk person to help us move to the main building. The computers were down but she called us 20 minutes into checking in with the good news. It was a little more money but worth every penny.

Also we lost some of the trinkets we bought some staff found it in the parking lot and based on the credit card receipt figured out that it belonged to us and brought it back to our room. Though it was small souveniers it was sooo appreciated that the staff went through all that effort.

Rooms in the main building: beautiful view, fireplace in each room which helped in the cool evenings.
Indoor pool: we never enjoyed the outdoor pool because even in august it is burr cold. My daughter (7 years old) loved ending the day in the pool and we in the hot tub attached to it. There is also steam room.
Coffee hot chocolate available 24/7:... You might not think it's a big deal but after a long day of hike or chilly walk by the ocean its great to walk by the lobby and grab those and sometimes you might get lucky and have warm cookies their as well. My daughter squealed in delight when she found the cookies. They went fast.

distance to town; Though it's not in the middle of town, it's only one mile out. I jogged every morning to it and back. Parking was never an issue when we drove into town if you don't mind walking few blocks to your destination.

Cons:
Noise: Though the views and balcony are nice, it faces the road so you are constantly hearing cars zipping by unless you close the door.
Restaurant: They are not reasonably priced. We ended up going into town for all of the meals.
I wish the bar offered snacks small meals mid day as well. We usually came in the afternoon mid activity and unless we bought snacks with us and no food available to purchase.

Room Tip: Highlest floors. 3rd or 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated our staff and facility so much. We provide the small touches such as warm cookies, coffee and hot chocolate because we know these are things that we appreciate when away from home. It is always great to hear that our guests notice and appreciate these details.

I am a little disappointed that it sounds like you were not aware of our lunch to go program. We provide a door hanger that you could have put outside at the end of your day to order boxed lunches for the next day. It sounds like this might have come in handy. I will look in to why this information was not conveyed to you.

I am also sorry to hear that you were not comfortable with the prices at the Looking Glass. We are priced comparatively to our direct competitors but we do have a higher end restaurant on our property. I am sure you were able to find some great alternatives downtown.

Again, thank you for spending your vacation with us, I hope you will be back !

Jim Ash
General Manager and Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA 4-diamond hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.