We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluenose Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Carlisle, Mass.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bluenose Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned from a stay in bar harbor. I loved this hotel...Gorgeous, clean, spectacular views from our room. Cannot wait to return to this lovely place, both the hotel and the island! Wonderful room on the third floor of the mezza"something" building. Loved it all!

Room Tip: It's worth it, if you can, to pay a little more to have a room with a balcony, right off the Atl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to your return visit and sincerely hope that we have an opportunity to meet in person if we have not done so already. I host weekly Manager Receptions to meet our guests and welcome you to attend.

Thank you,

Jim Ash
GM/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
304
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bluenose Inn. The location is not right in the "downtown" area of Bar Harbor, but it is a very short drive (less than 5 minutes). The rooms are very clean with great quality linens and toiletries and comfortable beds. Having the fridge and Keurig in the room was great. We used both the indoor and outdoor pools and were impressed with both, as well as the fitness room, steam room and hot tub. We stayed in the Stenna Nordica building and had no issues with the room. The view from our room was absoutely wonderful. We ended up staying an extra night and the staff were very helpful in extending our reservation during a very busy time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We also ate at the on-site restaurant. While the food was good and the view was fabulous, the service was a bit slow and it was a bit pricey. The coffee, hot chocolate and sometimes cookies in the lobby were a great bonus as well.

Room Tip: If you are in the Stenna Nordica building, choose a higher level floor if possible. This building do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would join us again if you are able to return to Bar Harbor.

We enjoy the fact that we are a little bit away from the downtown area, yet we are within walking distance and offer a shuttle service, in season, from our sister property the Wonder View which is next door.

I hope you were able to spend an evening in the Great Room listening to piano, with Bill Trowell while you were here. If not, then you definitely must come back!

I appreciate hearing that you enjoyed the small touches such as the refridgerator, Keurig and cookies.

Happy travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Bluenose Inn was rather old but 'well kept up'. It's main restaurant food didn't live up to what I expected nor did it's description as a 'glass-walled structure offering a beautiful view' (my expectations based on it's description of the write-up of it on the web-page of the Bluenose Inn). I also wished the single bathroom in our room was better ventilated. I was told on the phone when I reserved our stay at the Bluenose Inn that the 3rd floor rooms would have newly installed mattresses but, if they were indeed brand new, my back ached as if that we're not the case. But, despite all these complaints, I hope to never forget the breath-taking, beautiful view from our balcony and I really enjoyed eating outside for breakfast at the Bluenose Inn's restaurant. The first night we also enjoyed the piano music in the great room too. The staff at the Inn were always gracious and helpful as you could ever hope for.

Room Tip: We stayed at the building called the Nordica. It was a little outdated but well kept up. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds as though you had a very successful trip and a good stay with us. Now that you are familiar with our property you will know exactly what to ask for, and we would love to have you back.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in some of your experience at the Looking Glass, it sounds as though you found your way to the deck for breakfast though and it enjoyed it. I appreciate your time with us and the time you took here to tell us about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The property is very clean and well-maintained. The rooms are HUGE and very comfortable. We didn't really use any of the amenities (well... you don't go to Bar Harbor for indoor pool or hotel drink bar, right?) so there is not much I can write about it.This is a very pleasant, comfortable and rather high-end place to stay. However, it's pricey so if you don't want to use the spa or the pool you may want to find something less fancy.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 buildings. Both have windows on the ocean side but one is closer to the cliff (Mizze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn't spend much time enjoying the amenities on the property and hope that you will come again and do so next time. We have one of the best restaurants in Bar Harbor, The Looking Glass and every night of the week offer piano in the Great Room Lounge which is considered by many to be some of the finest live music available to the public in Bar Harbor.

Well, you will just have to stay with us again!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Pros: The staff: everyone was so nice and accomodating. We arrived to learn that we had booked in the building facing the parking lot and not the ocean. Though ocean was visible it had an akward communal balcony so it would be hard to enjoy the view without loosing privacy. I asked the front desk person to help us move to the main building. The computers were down but she called us 20 minutes into checking in with the good news. It was a little more money but worth every penny.

Also we lost some of the trinkets we bought some staff found it in the parking lot and based on the credit card receipt figured out that it belonged to us and brought it back to our room. Though it was small souveniers it was sooo appreciated that the staff went through all that effort.

Rooms in the main building: beautiful view, fireplace in each room which helped in the cool evenings.
Indoor pool: we never enjoyed the outdoor pool because even in august it is burr cold. My daughter (7 years old) loved ending the day in the pool and we in the hot tub attached to it. There is also steam room.
Coffee hot chocolate available 24/7:... You might not think it's a big deal but after a long day of hike or chilly walk by the ocean its great to walk by the lobby and grab those and sometimes you might get lucky and have warm cookies their as well. My daughter squealed in delight when she found the cookies. They went fast.

distance to town; Though it's not in the middle of town, it's only one mile out. I jogged every morning to it and back. Parking was never an issue when we drove into town if you don't mind walking few blocks to your destination.

Cons:
Noise: Though the views and balcony are nice, it faces the road so you are constantly hearing cars zipping by unless you close the door.
Restaurant: They are not reasonably priced. We ended up going into town for all of the meals.
I wish the bar offered snacks small meals mid day as well. We usually came in the afternoon mid activity and unless we bought snacks with us and no food available to purchase.

Room Tip: Highlest floors. 3rd or 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated our staff and facility so much. We provide the small touches such as warm cookies, coffee and hot chocolate because we know these are things that we appreciate when away from home. It is always great to hear that our guests notice and appreciate these details.

I am a little disappointed that it sounds like you were not aware of our lunch to go program. We provide a door hanger that you could have put outside at the end of your day to order boxed lunches for the next day. It sounds like this might have come in handy. I will look in to why this information was not conveyed to you.

I am also sorry to hear that you were not comfortable with the prices at the Looking Glass. We are priced comparatively to our direct competitors but we do have a higher end restaurant on our property. I am sure you were able to find some great alternatives downtown.

Again, thank you for spending your vacation with us, I hope you will be back !

Jim Ash
General Manager and Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is everything that you would want and more in a Hotel. We came out of Quebec and between there and Bar Harbor there is very little choice. As a result we called and booked one of the few rooms left in the Bar Harbor area. Talking with them we were able to get together on a room on the top floor. Yes, It was more than what I would pay for for a normal room. But this was no Normal room! It was huge, with a fire place, and the balcony doors opened to the Bay. If you are looking for a great room, this is it! It is worth the little extra that it cost, and like most things, everything is negotiable! And they are willing to meet all of your needs.

Room Tip: get the 4th floor facing the bay..........WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your room here. It sounds like you stayed in one of our beautiful rooms in the Mizzentop. These rooms (and some suites) are indeed luxurious and offer a fabulous view of the bay.

I hope you were able to spend some time with us at the restaurant and in the Great Room while you were here as well. We also have wonderful indoor and outdoor pools as well as a full service spa. We would love to have you back and are very happy to have been a part of your recent vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The property was lovely and well-maintained. Our room was beautifully decorated, huge with a sitting porch overlooking Bar Harbour Bay, gorgeous. The bed extremely comfy and all kinds of amenities in the room. The indoor swimming pool was great. Couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: The top floor facing the harbor had an amazing view...but some of the others may have also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive things you have shared about us with Tripadvisor. We are very proud of all of our facilities here on the hillside of Eden Street. The Mezzentop building of the Bluenose Inn is truly special.

I hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Looking Glass Restaurant and spent some time in the Great Room listening to Bill Trowell on piano while you were here as well. If not then you will just have to come back!

I hope that you will be back in any case, and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA 4-diamond hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.