We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel! Gorgeous views overlooking Frenchman's Bay, this hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was exceptional. We were there during the power outage on the 5th, the management kept us up to date on everything that was going on. The staff were very inviting and gave us great recommendations for things to do in the area!! Dinner at The Looking Glass Restaurant on the 4th was outstanding! The piano bar was wonderful. The indoor and outdoor pools were great as well. Wished I had got to use the spa! The rooms are spacious, bathrooms a little small, but not a big deal... I would highly recommend this hotel within distance downtown Bar Harbor as well as Acadia National Park. Can't wait to visit Bar Harbor and the BlueNose Inn again. Thanks again for an amazing vacation!! Can't say enough great things about the BlueNose Inn!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. You won't be disappointed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments. I will certainly pass them along to the staff. We feel very honored that you have complimented us to this degree. We sincerely hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor, that you will come back to see us.
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
304
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our stay at the charming BlueNose Inn was spectacular. We made ample use of both the indoor and outdoor pools, the spa, the gym, the lounge area (including the nightly piano recitals), and most definitely the wonderful "Looking Glass" restaurant at the top of the hill.

Our spacious Mizzentop suite had a private balcony with an excellent view of the harbor, was and nicely appointed and accommodated us and our two young children easily.

The staff was outstanding and attentive with a special shout out to Jim Ash, the General Manager. Though we lost power on the first evening, the staff helped us with updates and restaurant recommendations - they were even kind enough to extend our stay by a night at no charge.

I strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Mizzentop suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I wish to sincerely thank you for your very kind words from your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities to include both the indoor and outdoor pools, the gym, and the lounge. Also thrilled that you enjoyed our Looking Glass restaurant. Your point about the children reinforced the fact that we are indeed a family resort.
I appreciate your comment about me but it is my staff who are some of the most customer service oriented people that I have worked with and did a spectacular job during the lengthy power outage that should be commended.
I do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine we will see you and your family once again at the Bluenose.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place was beautiful! And the service was great! Everyone was so nice--went above and beyond on numerous occasions. I typically don't hang out in the hotel bar, but they had a piano player that was fantastic. The restaurant was very good as well. The room was very nice. The bathroom was a little small, mostly just lacking counter space, but worth all the others positives. The only thing that surprised us was the pictures don't reveal that your balcony overlooking the water is not a private balcony. Again, not a deal breaker, more just for information. I would totally recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. Your comments about the staff were especially rewarding. I am also happy that you enjoyed our pianist, Bill Trowell, who is an extremely talented musician who has been with the property now for 18 seasons and simply does a tremendous job. He plays every evening as you discovered from 7 to 11 p.m. I do hope that when you travel back to New England that you make the Bluenose once again one of your destinations points. We thank you for your support and recommendation.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Bluenose is a lovely hotel with big rooms and gracious public areas, including a lounge with live piano music every evening. The rooms are not elegant, but they have everything you need. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor and has comfortable indoor and outdoor pools.

The service at the Bluenose was truly wonderful. In addition to routine matters, we experienced a daylong power outage after a transformer went down in town, and the staff went well out of their way to accommodate us and the other guests. Thank you, Bluenose, for your kindness!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. As stated, our rooms are oversized and the public areas including the Great Room with the nightly pianist, Bill Trowell are we believe quite special.
Glad to hear that you liked both the indoor and outdoor heated pools and found the service to be wonderful. We are very fortunate to have such a committed and service oriented staff and I believe their performance during the power outage proved this point as you stated. As you pointed out, we are also a very short walk to downtown Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia National Park
I do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to New England, you will include the Bluenose as one of your stops.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hurricane Arthur's unpredicted disruption of hotel power for 14 hours made an expensive stay even more costly and of less value but, I'm sure Bluenose Inn had nothing to do with it's arrival. Stuff happens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I apologize for the power outage that the Island experienced but assure you that all efforts were made to keep our guests comfortable during this situation. All the major hotels in the area, many of the B&Bs, and other retail, commercial and residential properties were also without power.
We do hope that when you come back to Maine and Bar Harbor, you will once again consider the Bluenose. We truly appreciate your business and I am certain you will find the value here.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed all over the world and this is one of my favorite places to stay. The people, the view and how clean it is all contribute to a pleasant and relaxing stay.

When you stay in Bar Harbor I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I wish to sincerely thank you for your excellent comments from your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. As someone who has traveled all over the world, they become that much more meaningful. You stated that the people, the cleanliness and comfort all contributed to your enjoyable stay. I will certainly pass these comments along as we pride ourselves in these areas. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is nice. The view from the our Mizzentop room and balcony was fabulous. The location is convent and the Looking Glass restaurant next door is great. Indoor and outdoor pools enjoyed by the kids as were the afternoon cookies in the lobby. The room was big and spacious, 2 beds plus a couch, coffee table and a working gas fireplace. My only complaint is that the room was tired, the furnishings and carpet faded and worn. For $370 a night, I expect a little more than a beautiful view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the views form you room and private balcony, the gas fireplace and room amenities.
Also glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools and the daily cookies of course.
Regarding the room décor, we are in the throes of upgrading the rooms but as you can imagine some are better than others and it does take time.
With all the positive comments you made, I do hope that when you return to the area that you will once again choose the Bluenose for your family vacation.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA 4-diamond hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.