We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“spectacular everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

This was our second year staying at this fantastic hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The view from our 3rd floor Mizzentop room of Frenchman's Bay was spectacular. We booked the 5 day Coastal Splendor package which allows for breakfast every morning, two top-notch dinners at their 4 star restaurant and an outing in Bar Harbor. Well worth every penny. Will gladly return for another restful vacation at the Bluenose Inn.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
304
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owl's Head, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We live in Maine and travelled to Bar Harbor to hike the trails of Acadia, try the restaurant Havana and enjoy traditional popovers at Jordan Pond with pleasant accomodations. The hotel was very good with very pleasant staff, spotless, spacious room, and a great view of the harbor and of the sand bar which leads to an island, heavily travelled by car and foot at low tide. The hotel is out of the frenzy of Bar Harbor which can be awful when a cruise ship has landed (it had!).

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Blue Nose Inn. It is a nice looking hotel. The staff is friendly and very professional. However, at the price we paid we expected better. Our room was small in the bath area, with very little room to deal with toiletries. The main complaint I have about the place is noise in the room. We heard our neighbors TV, conversation, and... I'll leave it to your imagination. Both nights of our stay were plagued with noise. I did not have a restful night while staying at the Blue Nose. There are redeeming features of this hotel such as the pool area. However, when I am paying premium prices, I want a quiet well insulated room, with space for my things.

  • Liked — The look of the hotel, great room, pool area
  • Disliked — noise in the room, heard our upstairs neighbors as well as next door neighbors.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Spacious room with a fireplace and beautiful view. Excellent upscale restaurant at the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My wife and I spent four nights at the Bar Harbor Hotel in July. I don't think I have stayed at a hotel with friendlier staff. I was always greeted with a hello and I felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Mizzentop section of the hotel. The rooms were large and clean, turndown service at night, and all had balconies. Sat outside several times around the outdoor pool. My wife swam at the indoor pool and said it was enjoyable.

This hotel is just outside of downtown Bar Harbor, about a 15 minute walk to the piers.

On the day we arrived, the masseuse was offering free chair massages to hotel guests. It was very enjoyable after a long drive up from Portland. My wife got a regular message later that night and said it was very good.

We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurants but they all looked great. We did sit in the bar one evening and listened to the pianist. Very friendly and comfortable. A good way to relax.

I have 2 small complaints. My wife likes to sleep with the windows open and without air conditioning. The hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking Frenchman's Bay but also the road into town. At night you can hear the cars passing by. We closed the door and turned on the A/C and didn't hear any noise. My other complaint was that the way the rooms are configured, when you do have the door to the balcony opened, you do not get any cross circulation so there is no breeze. It might be helpful for them to install ceiling fans in the suites to create a breeze for those who like fresh air.

All in all these were minor compared to the quality service we received by the staff.

  • Liked — Large Rooms, Excellent Staff
  • Disliked — Noise from road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

The staff are outstanding. Responsive to every request and sooo polite. The rooms are lovely with all kinds of just nice things to make you more comfrotable. Traveling with a persoin with some physical limitations was a breeze with the help of this wonderful staff. Sharon, one of the chambermaids inquired to see if there were any cleaning products that he might be sensitive to. Dillon got us through the packing to go back home process. Patricia at the desk was always ready to send us in the right direction to have the best day possible.
The Rose Garden room on a cool evening was delightful. Piano music and attentive staff , again, made it a perfect spot to end the day. We were there on the 4th of July and had a great time watching fireworks and chatting with other guests.
This trip was to celbrate our 50th wedding anniversary and we could not have asked for anything more. Superb!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a roadtrip we took from Washington DC up to New England. It is a bit pricey, but we enjoyed our stay very much!

After missing the entrance and having to turn around :), trust me though, we haven't been the only ones, we found the hotel. Check in was fast and easy, and our room was elegant, spacious, and very clean. The private balcony was worth paying a bit extra for, although please be advised that while it does overlook the ocean, FIRST it overlooks the road, so it isn't as peaceful and quiet as I would have hoped. The decor in the room is a bit more pink and flowery than our usual taste in hotel room decor, but I have no complaints. It was a very nice, clean room.

We paid for a package that included dinner one night at their swanky restaurant (Rose Garden, I believe it was called) ... it was perhaps worth the price, if we had been hungrier on that particular evening. But still, you get very generous portions of fabulous food, while enjoying outstanding service. The second night we simply ate at the piano bar, and it was a delight. The views from our table by the windows took our breath away, the service was extremely friendly, we had excellent lobster rolls (among the best we had, and we sampled many!), and there was beautiful live music. Though we did get the impression that this hotel was intended for a slightly older crowd than us (both in our 30s, we were by far the youngest couple at that bar that evening), it was a wonderful time.

Also, although this is not a family-run hotel, it certainly felt like it. We constantly saw the same employees in different parts of the hotel on different days, and it was nice how they recognized and greeted us (think of a cruise ship-type of experience). I just hope they weren't being overworked!

Overall a very good experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA 4-diamond hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.