We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“past its prime, cries out for repair” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“past its prime, cries out for repair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We expected a AAA 4-diamond and TripAdvisor 4 of 5 hotel, one that might be old but would certainly be restored and well maintained, quaint, enjoyable even, for a short stay. That is not what we found. Old-fashioned I can like, but I’ve come to expect quiet private rooms with heating, cooling, indoor plumbing, Wi-Fi, and a safe locked door and room to store our gear when we are out.
Our first night in room 210 was unpleasant, with problems from noise, heating, plumbing, and Wi-Fi. Our sleep was disrupted multiple times throughout the night by a clack clack clacking from the ceiling above, as if a child on the floor above was wearing her mother’s high heeled shoes in the middle of the night enthusiastically enjoying making noise on the hardwood floor. It was obvious there was no sound insulation between the floors.
A second noise issue was a motor from a generator, or something similar, running all night outside the building. I confirmed when I found a motor and generator in the morning – it was the hotels and was not enclosed by a fence or structure, and no other attempt had been made to quiet the motor. The noise from this motor was loud and objectionable even with the room windows closed – think of a lawnmower running outside of your bedroom window. The noise from the children above is somewhat outside of the hotel’s control, but the motor was obviously there by their design. Why would a hotel have a noisy gasoline generator running outside guest rooms with no sound enclosure or other attempt to muffle the noise?
A third noise issue was the flushing water sounds throughout the night; not that we expected people to not use their bathroom, but rather that we did not expect to hear it.
Another issue was that the thermostat malfunctioned. When we arrived, there was no heat, only cold air coming out of the heater ducts – it was not a complicated thermostat so the 70 heat setting should have gotten a little warm response from the heater. A call to the front desk confirmed the issue: yes, the tab is set to heat, yes, the temperature is at 70, yes, setting it at the highest does not elicit a warm response from the heater. This issue was fixed while we were out to dinner. It revisited us later in the night when the room became too hot, but this time turning down the thermostat worked like a modern miracle.
So first thing after breakfast in the morning we went to the front desk to change rooms. The clerk was nice, polite, professional, but did not, at first, appear to understand our complaint nor request to move to a different room. She explained that a family with children was staying above us but was expected to check out, so we should try another night. She did, however, finally acquiesce and located another room on the top floor and further away from the generator. I think she was a little reluctant to change the room because she believed the problems were all due to the family on the floor above.
The new room, room number 315, was quieter so our second night was better. The heater worked, there was no noise from above. The main problem with room 315 was the gap under the door, about an inch. This gap allowed the noise of everyone passing by to be heard in the room: their talking and their luggage wheels rolling on the floor. Since room 315 was just at the top of the stairs, everyone who went to or from a room on the third floor went by room 315. We rolled the bed cover and put it in front of the door – that seemed to block the noise. This room was better than room 210, but it still was not good, just acceptable.
Both room 210 and 315 had weak Wi-Fi signals. Neither of our iPhones nor the iPad were able to connect, and showed only a one bar signal. I did get a strong signal and good connection while in the front desk area.
Although this next seems like a nit, it is a real security issue. My final issue is with hotel security: the room keys with the room number stamped on them. The keys are quaint, but anyone can have a duplicate made, and the room number on the key means anyone finding one knows what room it belongs to. Actually, anyone can make a bump-key and use it to open any of the hotel rooms in less than 15 seconds, no lock picking skill needed. It probably is not feasible to use the old fashioned metal keys without the room number, but as is this poses a real risk to hotel guests. Other hotels have maintained their quaintness, their old-fashioned ambiance even with modern electronic door passes.

Room Tip: top floor only, or new building only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Bluenose Inn. While I deeply appreciate your input, I do take exception to many of your opinions. As evidenced by the overwhelming majority of guest reviews, you are in the minority but regardless we did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologize. Should your travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor, I would welcome the opportunity to give us another chance. Therefore I offer you a night of complimentary lodging subject only to availability. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
302
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mims, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights end of October and after the first night we immediately scheduled a 3rd. We were in the main building overlooking Frenchmans Bay that was so beautiful. The Hotel, the rooms , the pool, and the Looking Glass restaurant were truly amazing. I can honestly say this was the most enjoyable visit we've had yet....REALLY! This hotel is immaculate and beautiful, all the staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant exceeded anything I could have hoped for. This is NOT your typical hotel restaurant. The view was awesome and the food....particularly dinner was excellent. The chef there really knows what he's doing. I loved the choice of sides that came with the meal as much as the main course. Tom (aka Aldo) is truly the waiter of all waiters. He provided not just our meals but lots of local information and we really enjoyed discussing the food that was presented to us. A true professional in everyway and very entertaining. The pool is like a dream come true. I could hardly believe it. I love everything about this place and I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I only know about the main building as far as rooms are concerned...The view is worth it and I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and your husband as well. I have shared your remarks with my staff and they are very proud and pleased to say the least. You clearly made our day from your statements about the room, the housekeeping to the food to the staff. The fact that you emphatically stated you will return is extremely rewarding. We hope to see you again soon.
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A family vacation to Bar Harbor is a must for anyone visiting Maine. My family of 5 had the pleasure of spending a night at The Bluenose Inn. Very accommodating. Very clean. Even had the pleasure of being greeted by the owner at cocktail hour. Wonderful indoor pool kept the kids very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am very pleased with the fact in particular that your entire family of 5 enjoyed their stay. The indoor pool is a great amenity for everyone but all children in particular. The cleanliness comment was especially rewarding as well. We hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a great place to in Bar Harbor. Our room was very spacious with a gorgeous view. Very efficient and friendly staff and just a wonderful experience to have stayed here. Pretty good restaurant as well. Can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am glad that you found the room to your liking as well as the views but most pleased you found my staff so accommodating. I am happy to hear that you can recommend us and hope that you will return as well.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Where do i start, this hotel was just gorgeous, we had a room with a sea view and the room was bright airy and very comfortable with a lovely colonial feel to it. The reception and service was faultless and there were very good facilities. The breakfast was gorgeous and had the most amazing views!!!! Would absolutely recommend this hotel, just loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am thrilled that you found the property so much to your liking and the service was flawless. I also appreciate the comment about the food and most of all that you will recommend us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Good location within easy reach of Bar Harbor (3min drive). Clean rooms which were well equipped. We were especially impressed with the massage chair in the room! There is also a washing machine available to use for $2 in the building, which proved very useful. The breakfast on offer at the Looking Glass restaurant is good and well-priced ($10 for a full brekkie), which you can enjoy with great views! Plenty of free parking and the wifi connection was good throughout the hotel. The walls and floors are quite thin though so if you are a light sleeper, noise from your neighbours might bother you. Overall we were very happy with our stay and the Bluenose Inn is highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. Glad you enjoyed the massage chair and found the rooms clean and well equipped. I am pleased that you also visited our restaurant and had an enjoyable breakfast. We really appreciate your business as well as your recommendation for others to stay with us. Please come back to visit.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

we went to Bar Harbor 33 yrs ago and decided to return to this lovely part of Maine. We staid at the Bluenose Inn for 5 days early in July. we asked for the top floor and a view of the harbor.
The inn was remarkable. The attention to details was great. The Inn was impeccably clean. We got our room and yes it was the top floor and yes the view was breathtaking. It was very warm even with the air conditioning. I contacted the front desk and with in the hour the general contractor was there with a fan to help move the air conditioning air ( which faced the other wall) towards the bed. The bathroom was luxurious. The balcony was very tiny just enough space for the 2 chairs and a small table for your coffee cup. We went to the Looking Glass restaurant for a breakfast and a supper meal. The restaurant was equally impeccable.The views were magnificent and the staff were attentive to thief guests.we had purchased a special package deal which concluded the stay at the Inn and breakfast each day and one supper meal. Fortunate for us the meals were included otherwise the dinner meal was over priced. I am grateful for the stay and the amenities, however it was overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Bluenose. The comments will certainly be passed along to my staff particularly housekeeping and maintenance departments. I am glad you enjoyed the great views we offer from both the hotel and the restaurant.
While the prices certainly are not inexpensive, we are comparable with the competition and seasonal rates in the fall are a factor of demand which is very strong. We sincerely hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA 4-diamond hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.