We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INEPT AMENITIES CONSIDERING LODGING PRICE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INEPT AMENITIES CONSIDERING LODGING PRICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The following deficiencies: 1) Faucet didn't shut off during shower;
2) coffee machine inoperable (received grounds in the cup); 3) could not warm up the room ... heating system nonfunctional; )4 long walk from our room to exit (arthritic issues a factor).
For the price we paid, we feel gyped and deserve an appropriate credit towards the credit card charge (Discover).


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I deeply apologize for the various problems that you encountered. No excuses are offered. You stated that you felt you did not receive the value so I am offering you a night of complimentary lodging either the end of this season or early 2014 to hopefully make amends. Please contact me directly to make your reservation. I hope you take us up on the offer.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    140
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
304
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pros:

(1) Good location. Close to the Acadia National Park as well as downtown Bar Harbor. (2) Good view that overlooks the Bay.

Cons:

(1) Pricey. (2) Room amenities/furniture are very old. (3) The sink leaks. (4) Some random guest entered our room with a key at 11:30pm and later it turned out that the front desk gave him a wrong key which can open the door of our room.

Room Tip: Rooms that have Bay View are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the sink and the keys. The key issue clearly was a human error. I am pleased that you found the location and views to your liking. I would like to offer you complimentary lodging for a night to make amends. Please contact me directly for your reservation. Please give us a chance to redeem ourselves and prove to you our standards of excellence.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping Forest, Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a satisfactory 2 night stay in a hotel just a short drive from downtown Bar Harbor. We had a nice room in a separate block, marred only by a bus parked right outside our window which loaded up and started at 7 am, with much conversation etc. There's a nice leisure complex here, with a hot tub, pool and steam room, which we had all to ourselves. We preferred to eat in town both for breakfast and dinner as the hotel restaurant was a bit of a walk, and the town had more of a buzz. We appreciated a reception hosted by the Manager with complimentary wine and cheese.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, the manager's reception and the location of the property. I apologize for the bus departure at an early hour but they had a commitment to be on the road early. We hope that when your travel plans bring you back to New England, you will consider coming back. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

While touring the New England states we recently stayed at the Bluenose Inn and it was great! The indoor pool was beautiful! We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub after being on the road all day. The views of Bar Harbor from the hotel and restaurant were breath taking. Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough at the Bluenose Inn!

Room Tip: If you want a place with a beautiful view of Bar Harbor this is the place to stay! Wonderful hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the inn, the pool and hot tub and you found the view to be as breath taking as we do. It never gets old. Your ending statement, "our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough" says it all. Therefore I hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great Location, excellent staff. Friendly and helpful Manager/Owner Jim. This place is beautifully located and is a comfortable old fashioned hotel, old fashioned meaning with tasteful furniture and fittings. Not old worn out furniture - just right. The rooms overlooking the Bay are stunning. This is on my 'return list'.

Room Tip: Book early and get a room at the front of the property - one with the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. Your concluding statement of "this is on my return list" says it all. As discussed when I met you, I hope I get the opportunity to travel to your country some day as I have a lot of Scottish ancestors. When your travel plans bring you back to New England, we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
The Bluenose Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was out of this world. It was the largest hotel room I've ever been in. Fireplace in room with balcony overlooking the bay. Woke up to sunrise over the bay.
The Great Room was very relaxing. The wine and cheese meet the manager hour was very nice as well. Breakfast at the restaurant was good with great views of Bar harbor and the bay.
If you are visiting Bar Harbor I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Above all I sincerely appreciate your comment that you would recommend this hotel. We are very pleased that you were that happy with your room, the fireplace and great view and I am glad you came to my manager reception as it was indeed a pleasure meeting you. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Bar Harbor at the Bluenose Inn. We have been back 5 more times and will soon be spending our 12th anniversary there again. This place is just amazing! The atmosphere is fantastic and so relaxing. We've met so many great people and LOVE to sit in the Great Room each night listening to and talking with Bill Trowell. We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor of the Mizzentop!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments and above all else, staying with us on your honeymoon and coming back for anniversaries. We are very pleased that you enjoy the property, the atmosphere and people. Your ending statement of "we can't wait to come back" is very rewarding and will be shared with the staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.